We are the leapers we were waiting for – Fridays with Billy.

It’s an election year.

They’re telling us women can’t be trusted with our reproductive health, LGBTQ folks can’t be trusted to get married, black, brown, and poor folks can’t be trusted to vote, and only the rich can be trusted with our money (and while we’re at it, they’re also telling us that Palestinians don’t deserve human dignity).

Here’s what Billy has to say about all of that:

You can be active with the activists
Or sleep in with the sleepers
While you’re waiting for the Great Leap Forwards
One leap forwards, two leaps back
Will politics get me the sack?
Here comes the future and you can’t run from it
If you’ve got a blacklist I want to be on it
It’s a mighty long way down rock ‘n roll
From Top of the Pops to drawing the dole
If no one seems to understands
Start your own revolution, cut out the middleman
In a perfect world we’d all sing in tune
But this is reality so give me some room
So join the struggle while you may
The Revolution is just a t-shirt away

full lyricsWhat is Fridays with Billy?

Previous Post

8 Comments

  1. Lise

     /  May 25, 2012

    My favorite line: “If you’ve got a blacklist, I want to be on it.” Unfortunately, this actually happened to me. I signed a petition supporting two midwives in a situation at a birth center in Mexico back in the ’90s. The midwives left, the director stayed, and she’s not forgotten nor forgiven me suportting her “enemies”, so I’m not welcome to visit that birth center. A real shame, for all concerned. I didn’t really want to be on her blacklist.

  2. dmf

     /  May 26, 2012

    hey are you up twittering @ 1am?

    • Sometimes one finds oneself awake…!

      • dmf

         /  May 28, 2012

        yes one does but perhaps one should be wary of unwanted feedback loops of over stimulated neurons…

  3. A lifetime of independent thinking, begins with a single thought.