This is how an apology is done: Hoekstra’s actress speaks out.

Having posted about Hoekstra’s Superbowl commercial, I feel it’s important that I also post the apology of Lisa Chan, the actress, for the part she played in the entire debacle. I must say, I kind of feel for her. Good on her for stepping up and speaking out:

“I am deeply sorry for any pain that the character I portrayed brought to my communities. As a recent college grad who has spent time working to improve communities and empower those without a voice, this role is not in any way representative of who I am. It was absolutely a mistake on my part and one that, over time, I hope can be forgiven. I feel horrible about my participation and I am determined to resolve my actions.”

“It was absolutely a mistake… I am determined to resolve my actions.” This young woman should open up a clinic and teach people what real apologies sound like. (Too $hort? I’m looking at you).

h/t TPM

3 Comments

  1. i do feel for her. since none of us are above the human experience we are all prone to make mistakes. unfortunately, mistakes nowadays get immortalized in youtube and google 😦

    and yes too short’s video was sick. they issued an apology: http://allhiphop.com/2012/02/14/too-hort-hip-hop-mag-apologize-for-controversial-love-advice/

    however, i don’t see the value in it since they are only apologizing b/c it was brought up – otherwise it went have flown right by just like all the other trash xxl puts out. i am though troubled by how THIS particular video content received so much negative feedback when they’ve had every other modality of female minimization expressed on there before. <– what took so long?

  2. dave in texas

     /  February 16, 2012

    I’ve been an out of work actor willing to play damn near any role to get a gig (not to mention a paycheck), so I have some sympathy for her. It seems a little presumptious for me to say where the line between hunger, principles, and the all-important line on a resume begins and ends. I’d like to believe I wouldn’t have done this, but who knows.

    But you’re right. This should go into the textbook on how to do an apology the right way.

    • I keep thinking about all the Arab/Iranian/Pakistani actors who take roles as terrorists. You’re young, you’re in a business that doesn’t really make room for you skin, and you land a gig. You take it, you know?