Jean-Luc Picard on the dangers of limiting our liberties.

Hand to God, there’s a Star Trek moment for every reason and every season:

*

You know, there are some words I’ve known since I was a schoolboy: “With the first link, the chain is forged. The first speech censured, the first thought forbidden, the first freedom denied, chains us all irrevocably.” Those words were uttered by Judge Aaron Satie* as wisdom and warning. The first time any man’s freedom is trodden on we’re all damaged. – The Drumhead

*a character in the Next Gen universe

h/t Fashion It So (the OMG SO AWESOME tumblr dedicated to the OMG WHAT WERE THEY THINKING fashion of Star Trek: The Next Generation)

 

3 Comments

  1. Okay, that’s just plain awesome. ❤

    • I know, right? (Oh Next Gen…. I may have to find the series and work my way through it again sometime soon…).

  2. If you would like to see more Star Trek: The Next Generation awesomeness on individual freedom and liberty, check out this exchange that was part of “Measure of a Man”: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3PMlDidyG_I