Me and Auntie Beeb – or: The American-Israeli peace activist on the BBC.

Funny story – all my ranting and raving all over the blogosphere and Twitterverse about Israel/Palestine and President Obama’s speech yesterday not only netted me a call from the BBC, and an appearance on two hours of their current events chat program “World Have Your Say” — I’ve also been called by Russian English-language television! No, it’s true! I swear! They wanted to talk to me today but as I’m not in DC and don’t have video Skype (what’s wrong with me? I ask. Why such a Luddite?), they are going to arrange for a studio for me in Chicago on Monday or Tuesday (the producer said: “It’ll still be going on then!” Indeed it will). So, you know: That happened. Or, will happen.

In the meantime, the World Have Your Say page is here; you can down-load the first hour of the program and listen to it here (you’ll start hearing me at the 5 min, 57 second mark, and then there’s a lot of back and forth). I kind of got a bit long-winded at a couple of points (a thing which should surprise exactly no one who knows me, and/or knows the level of my passion for the issue), but I think I mostly sounded sane, which, under the circumstances is a victory in its own right!

Watch this space for video from me on Russian TV…!

6 Comments

  1. dmf

     /  May 20, 2011

    ee international supastar

  2. MikeJ

     /  May 20, 2011

    Congrats to you! I wrote a long comment complaining about WHYS, but I decided it was out of place. You did good. Mazel tov!

  3. Salut. Glad you’re getting some recognition in the media circles re: Middle East talks.

  4. Nicely done, Miss Emily, and good luck Monday/Tuesday with the Russians!

  5. Lise

     /  May 21, 2011

    Your hair! Did you get your hair done?! You ROCK! I downloaded the podcast to my netbook (the fact that I can even say that is kind of amazing), then carried it out to the front desk and made Mayra, the medical assistant listen to you. Just a little proud of my sister… 😀

  6. DM

     /  May 22, 2011

    What are your thoughts on Obama’s AIPAC speech? It appears he walked pre-1967’s border’s point back and he does not support unilateral inpdendence for Palestine. Unless I am understanding it wrong. Obama’s point are not radical. If any thing Bibi has approved an additional 300 settlements as we speak. How is Obama and Netanhau(sp.) fostering peace or a two state solution?

    Thanks