Too much information running through my brain.

It feels like there is everything and nothing to write about.

Everywhere, everyone is talking about the government shutdown – I don’t want to talk about that. It frightens me and makes me sad, and then it infuriates me. Of course, some are talking about the possibility that the House GOP, not content with damaging the country once this month, will do so a second time by forcing us to default on our national debt – I don’t want to talk about that either. It frightens me more, and makes me leap straight over sad into rage.

I was at the J Street conference last week – it was great, really fabulous, to spend two and a half solid days doing nothing but talking about and meeting people who talk about the very ideas that consume roughly 67% of my head space (see what I did there?). It was like getting to talk in my real language for a time. It was lovely. It was also exhausting, and hard to explain, though, so that’s all I have to say about that. (Well not entirely. I wrote something for Open Zion; I’ll crosspost it here tomorrow).

The holidays have come, been, and gone. Thank heavens. I don’t want to talk about that again until next fall. Yes, the first night of Hanukkah is on Thanksgiving Eve this year, a once-in-humanity occurrence. Beyond saying that, though, what else is there to say about that?

People continue to die horrible deaths in Syria. Slightly-less back-channel-y diplomacy continues with Iran (even as the Iranian government continues to oppress its people, because let’s pause for an honesty break here). The Israeli-Palestinian peace talks apparently continue, but no one’s allowed to say anything about them, so who knows what’s going on there? I don’t want to talk about any of that either. Almost all I’ve done for the last several weeks was essentially talk about that.

I’ve read some good books. I’m catching up on TV (a little). Lately I’ve been thinking that maybe I should finally get around to watching Deep Space 9 (I know…). I have friends coming to visit this week, and one kid’s parent-teacher conference to attend and another to schedule. I’m literally months behind on matters like annual check-ups and cleaning my heating/cooling system’s filters. I bought a great, bright red cardigan at a resale shop.

This blog has seen a sudden, huuuuge upswing in readership in the past two days, and I’m so happy to have y’all here that I really want to write something. But there are too many, and too few, choices today. Maybe I’ll do better tomorrow. In the meantime, thank you for being here! Here are some puppies hugging, to make you smile:

puppy hug

9 Comments

  1. WOW! I love the puppies hugging each other. They are so cute and They have made my day. Thanks for the photo.

  2. Oh how I know what you describe…..it is why my blog posts are so few and far between.

    I found your blog because a facebook page I follow (Women Hold Up Half The Sky) shared your post that went viral. I’m so glad I did; I greatly enjoy reading your work.

  3. I appreciate the reference to the lyrics by the song by The Police (whether you intended that or not ; )

  4. Darth Thulhu

     /  October 8, 2013

    Since most of what you reference is quite depressing … Imma talk DS9.

    The series is well worth it, but just like Next Generation, it has a very clunky initial season and a half. Plenty of great episodes, but also lots of filler, and even more “not quite cohering yet” episodic oddness.

    But once it gets its stuff together, it is very, very good. It is the only Trek to seriously and deeply explore religion (as the Federation is generally secular non-theist). Moreover, the Bajoran-Cardassian arc continues from NextGen but moves on to deeply look at what reconcilation can (and cannot) be expected between two societies that have been horrible to each other for generations.

    • Hey – my cardigan is quite nice! : )

      The thing is: When I decided to take on Firefly very late in the game (for instance) there were only 14 episodes and a movie to tackle. That ultimately caused a deep, never-ending grief that will never end and always be grief, but, in terms of staring it down before I’d started, it wasn’t particularly daunting. But how many episodes of DS9 are there? Eleventy-billion?

      And yet, I must. It is (to quote the Great Dragon in Merlin, not The Very Bad Father in Star Wars) my destiny.

  5. Lise

     /  October 8, 2013

    1. I agree completely about the gov’t – numb, scared, sad, ashamed.
    2. So glad you had that *speaking your own language* at J St. I had the same at a midwifery conference last week.
    3. I got into my doctoral program! So yay! And yikes!
    4. Red? Red! Cool. Looking forward to seeing you.
    Love you, hang in there, enjoy DS9.

    • (This here is my sister, informing me that she got into her doctoral program via comment on my blog, because I am so impossible to get in touch with).

      YAAAAAAAAAAAAAYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYY!

  6. Elizabeth

     /  October 8, 2013

    Beyond saying that, though, what else is there to say about that?

    I have been thinking a lot about the ways in which that intersection is weird and uncomfortable, actually — there’s certainly nothing more “Jewish” than celebrating an attempt at genocide with a giant feast (“they tried to kill us, we won, let’s eat”). Except: Thanksgiving is a holiday from the perspective of the conquerers, the people who tried to commit genocide, and damn near succeeded. Or at least the mythology around the feast is from the perspective of the conquerers.