Programming note: Yom Kippur.

I’m about to disappear into my kitchen to finish making our pre-fast meal, and from there it’s nothing but prayers and services until later tomorrow evening. Functionally what that means in terms of this blog is that I will not be around, not even a little bit, even more than the usual Shabbat, because I’ll be completely gone from when I get up from this desk in 20 minutes until we get home from our break-fast meal tomorrow night.

If you fast: I hope it goes well, and that your time spent in prayer and reflection is good. If you don’t fast: Have a lovely Saturday! The weather in Chicago is looking delightful, and I hope it is by you, as well. : )

Here’s an English translation of some of what we’ll be reading in our services tomorrow – it’s the part that speaks to me the most:

They ask Me for the right way, they are eager for the nearness of God: “Why, when we fasted, did You not see? When we starved our bodies, did You pay no heed?” Because on your fast day you see to your business and oppress all your laborers! Because you fast in strife and contention, and you strike with a wicked fist! Your fasting today is not such as to make your voice heard on high.

Is such the fast I desire, a day for men to starve their bodies? Is it bowing the head like a bulrush and lying in sackcloth and ashes? Do you call that a fast, a day when the Lord is favorable?

No, this is the fast I desire: To unlock the fetters of wickedness, and untie the cords of the yoke, to let the oppressed go free. To let the oppressed go free; to break off every yoke. It is to share your bread with the hungry, and to take the wretched poor into your home; when you see the naked, to clothe him, and not to ignore your own kin. Isaiah 58:2-7

גמר חתימה טובה

Comments are closed.