I have not forgotten you + pretty pictures.

It occurs to me that it has been some time since I posted what I think of as a “real” post at this blog, that is: not something crossposted from Open Zion, not something reupped from the archives, and not something that is, or amounts to, a funny picture. There’s been a lot going on.

There was the trip to Israel that was hella-busy and action-packed, including a stay in a Druze village, a visit to the Bahai gardens, one lovely, long evening at a beach restaurant in Yafo (a restaurant about which apparently Time Magazine had something to say), as many friends and as many days in Tel Aviv as we could muster, and way more work than I anticipated doing (it seems that when I was actually in Israel/Palestine, I found I had even more than usual to say about Israel/Palestine).

Then there was the flight home that got delayed and delayed again and again, so that we didn’t get to our beds before 2 am last Monday morning. Then there was the trying to get our lives back into a rhythm despite our exhaustion, and then the politics-into-the-night of the Wendy Davis filibuster, then the huge & lightening-quick storm on Thursday that knocked out half the town’s electricity as well as knocking over a three-story-tall pine in our backyard. Then there was all the aftermath of that (including many phone calls that started “I’ve never had to do anything like this before in my life, so you’ll have to walk me through it.”) Then there was yesterday, when we celebrated the husband’s birthday a few days late, because it actually fell on Monday, and as noted, Monday was kind of a wash.

And none of that is the least bit interesting (well, maybe some of the Israel stuff is), but it does at least serve the purpose of helping me clarify for myself why I’ve been so lax!

Anyway, here are the pictures I promised (I lied. Some are of our sad tree).

The girl on the beach at that restaurant in Yafo.

The girl on the beach at that restaurant in Yafo.

*

The Bahai Gardens in Haifa - far more lovely than they even look, & containing 700 steps down. Down all of which we walked.

The Bahai Gardens in Haifa (Mediterranean Sea as backdrop) – far more lovely than they even look, & containing 700 steps. Down all of which we walked.

*

The Shrine at the gravesite of the Bab,  the Prophet-Herald of the Bahai faith, near the bottom of the gardens.

The Shrine over the grave site of the Bab (the Prophet-Herald of the Bahai faith), near the bottom of the gardens.

*

The roots of our poor, departed, upended tree.

The roots of our poor, departed, upended tree.

*

Clearing the tree on Saturday morning (after spending all of Friday chasing down someone available to do it - there were a LOT of trees down in town).

Clearing the tree on Saturday morning (after spending all of Friday chasing down someone available to do it – there were a LOT of trees down in town). At one point there were eight men in our tiny back yard. At my request, they saved us a slice of the tree’s trunk.

*

And just for fun, here's a Dachshund named Otis who we met at a street fair in Chicago yesterday. He was very sweet & looks as if someone sewed together patches of both of the dogs with which I grew up, one a black-and-tan Dachshund, the other an English Setter with big black markings.

And just for fun, here’s a Dachshund named Otis who we met at a street fair in Chicago yesterday. He was very sweet & looks as if someone sewed together patches of both of the dogs with whom I grew up, one a black-and-tan Dachshund, the other an English Setter with big black markings.

10 Comments

  1. Lise

     /  July 1, 2013

    That totally looks like Woofant + Snafus in one dog! ♡♥♡

  2. txvoodoo

     /  July 1, 2013

    DACHSHUND. He’s gawgeous!

  3. I love the gardens at Bab (the Prophet-Herald of the Bahai faith) they are really beautiful. Being the plant freak tha I am, I loved all of it.
    Then, I messed around and found out how nice you look and what a nice person you are.
    I really liked the picture of the beach in the evening. I love all of your blog.

  4. Snoring Dog Studio

     /  July 2, 2013

    A wonderful hodge-podge of pics. Hope you can get some rest soon!

    • I loved all of the really cool pictures especially the dog pics. Now you need to hide but good and get some relaxation time.

  5. darththulhu

     /  July 3, 2013

    So sad about the venerable tree falling.

    But awesome that you got to see the Gardens amidst a bunch of other less pleasant Israeli activity. I love how the tiers just keep going and going and going all the way down Carmel’s side. One hopes that part of that day was at least a little peaceful.

    • I was initially wondering why one would build a holy space going *down* to the shrine, and then I just felt myself being gathered into it the farther down we got, and I went: “Ah-HA.”

      Have you gotten to volunteer there?

      • Darth Thulhu

         /  July 5, 2013

        Been needed stateside for family finance too much. I would love to do it someday, though. Despite Israel’s iron-rigid enforcement of its “do not seek converts” laws, the site itself is wonderful and holy to be in.

        If you can ever make it to the North American mother temple, it is also amazing. It’s not too far from you in the Chicago area.