Creation is now. And now. AND RIGHT NOW.

I’m trying really hard to catch up after Rosh Hashana, so while I’m hoping to get a real post up sooner rather than later, for now I’m going to stay in the mood of this holiday season, in which Jews are celebrating Creation itself, and simply present this quote from the great American rabbi and thinker Abraham Joshua Heschel:

Creation, we are taught, is not an act that happened once upon a time, once and for ever. The act of bringing the world into existence is a continuous process. God called the world into being, and that call goes on. There is this present moment because God is present. Every instant is an act of creation. A moment is not a terminal but a flash, a signal of Beginning. Time is a perpetual innovation, a synonym for continuous creation. Time is God’s gift to the world of space.

I’m going to be digging down into that last sentence for a while, I think.

2 Comments

  1. CitizenE

     /  September 20, 2012

    And the days of awe a continuous flow. Buddhism doesn’t make a God differentiation, nor lack thereof, but the rest is strikingly in tune. Still, when I used to pay special attention I was always especially aware that the doors were open and blowing both ways this time of year.