Open thread for a wandering Horde.

Not… sure…? if the boss is on the open thread tip today or not, since he’s around but hasn’t posted one. BUT – I’m about to run out the door, so here ye be! Just in case.

(And if you’re looking for an entirely over-long post on the bar mitzvah, just scroll down. It’s hard to miss).

Standard FYI clause: I generally wait about 2 hours after Ta-Nehisi would typically open a thread (roughly noon, EST, back when such a thing was typical…!), and if none is forthcoming, I put one up here.

Previous Post

145 Comments

  1. David L

     /  August 24, 2012

    Since I had something that I swore that I was going to comment on in the open thread and now can’t remember what it was:

    I believe that I’ve commented before in these parts that I work for a K-12 school system. Monday is the first day of school, and I would just like to say that I will be so very thankful when things calm down a little bit towards the end of next week. This week is one of those weeks when I’m trying to track so many different things and have to respond to so many requests that I just can’t focus on the longer tasks in between the little things. I have a task on my to-do list that I could finish in a single, quiet day. I started it on Monday and I’m not done yet. Although it probably doesn’t help that I’ve been on and off of my psychoactive drug of choice (caffeine) during the week, now that I think about it.

    • David L

       /  August 24, 2012

      Two postscripts:

      1. I feel odd when I manage to post before Anibundel. I actually held off a bit just to see if she happened to get in and I could post guilt-free.

      2. I am thankful that my boss has an attitude of “We pay you for 40 hours a week for a reason.” If I had someone who was more demanding, I would probably be in here tomorrow finishing that task that I can’t seem to find the focus for during the week.

      • I was at my parents dealing with discussing what the fuck one does with 100k when one inherits it exactly.

        • Bookwoman

           /  August 24, 2012

          1) One finds out how much will be left after taxes.
          2) One pays off any non-mortgage debt one might have.
          3) One places in the rest in something like a Vanguard Index Fund (or money market fund if one is very risk-averse).
          4) As always, Y (and your parents’) MMV.

          • Bookwoman

             /  August 24, 2012

            Just realized you are probably talking about yourself only here. In which case, 1) does not apply.

          • It’s really somewhere between $137 and $150k.

            Dad says the new Bush rules say if you inherit less than a million you pay no taxes. So something that bastard did actually benefitted me. About time.

            I am planning on taking the $37-50K and using it to pay off car&cards and then function as next egg to build on.

            Hence the need to figure out a plan for the $100k. Vanguard was on dad’s list too.

            • Bookwoman

               /  August 24, 2012

              Sounds like a good plan.

              Right now the federal exclusion is actually $5 million+, but it reverts back to $1 million next year. Some states also have estate taxes, but perhaps your grandmother lived in one that has none?

              • According to my dad yes. There are no taxes to pay.
                My mother thinks I’m too young to be so serious and wants to squander it.
                Yeah. I’m 35 and expect shit for a pension, and for SS to be gone. So let’s not and say we did.

                • efgoldman

                   /  August 24, 2012

                  Well, squander some of it, for FSM’s sake.
                  Surely you have a semi-frivolous use for at least a couple thou.

                  • I might update my car.🙂

                    But in all seriousness, the thought is to take what will be left of the 37-50k after I spend $14k paying off my debts and use it to build on for a down payment for a house closer into town.

                • Bookwoman

                   /  August 24, 2012

                  Exactly. No squandering. A little fun with it – a nice vacation, some new clothes or furniture, etc. is completely called for – but the majority of it should be put away. Living below one’s means, when possible, is the way to happiness.

            • Captain_Button

               /  August 24, 2012

              Nitpicking: You never pay taxes on inheritance, not federal taxes anyway. The estate pays taxes on itself before passing the money on to you.

              One practical tip: If any of the inheritance is not in cash (stocks, real estate, rare beanie babies) it is important to determine your “cost basis” and keep track of it until you sell whatever it is. If you don’t your tax preparer will be vexed with you.

              It will probably be whatever the market value was when the deceased passed away.

              • That stuff is all in my dad’s hands. That’s part of the “waiting until November” thing. they are CoDs (I think?)

            • wearyvoter

               /  August 24, 2012

              Do you have access to TIAA-CREF?

    • David L

       /  August 24, 2012

      To revise and extend my previous remarks: I have now reached the point on a Friday afternoon where, unless it has to be done soon, I am out of fucks to give. I wish the early-dismissal fairy still came around from time to time (not that she ever came around any time other than the last working day before a long weekend when she worked here.)

  2. And once again I kick the emergency ORAN down the schedule. Eventually I’ll stop worrying and just delete the damn thing.

    • Hey sweetie, thanks for being back-up! It became a personal challenge to keep getting a thread up – it felt like a little teeny slice of normal in all the madness!

      And I’m so sorry that I haven’t had a chance to say this yet: I’m so sorry for you and your family’s loss. I hope that the kitties and R are surrounding you with love and all the purring you can handle.

      • you know hy I don’t delete it? Because its a video of Bender yelling “blackjack! And hookers!”
        Also I’m convinced as long as I have it I won’t need it, but the day i delete it, neither you nor TNC will put a thread up. So it’s insurance.
        R leaves for NC this weekend, and from there he’s on the road through November 8th. The kitties are a help.
        We have to go empty out grandma’s apartment next weekend. That will be depressing. I’ve been badly short tempered with everything as well. Hoping that passes soon.

  3. I’m in my car going home at a stop light, so I can’t link but there’s a tribute to Jerry Nelson a projrun recap, Luther saying all the things Obsma can’t and some talk on next years Oscars all up on my blog right now.

    Crap, gotta drive.

    • koolaide

       /  August 24, 2012

      I’ve completely broken up with Ven. I don’t care how lovely his other designs were. I will now actively cheer/hope for him to crash and burn. He’s not Mr. Male Model shaped himself and he can’t deal with this model? And is so rude? I mean, yeah, other desingers have made mean remarks before but for some reason his seemed so much worse to me than the others.

      • If that had been me and Marnifer I would have made a stink and a half and demanded he be sent home. Just horrendous.

        • koolaide

           /  August 24, 2012

          He couldn’t even put her in heels. I mean, I love a cute pair of flats (& they were the best thing in that outfit). But on the runway in that mess of an outfit? Put her in heels!

          • She looked better in her Before picture. That should have been forced in his face.

            • koolaide

               /  August 24, 2012

              Agreed. It was completely a situation where they knew there was no way they were cutting him and he believed they’d never cut him. And they didn’t even really try that hard to put the fear of G-d into him.

              • They won’t cut him until after we pass the episode that airs during Fashion week. They want a line out of him up on that runway,

                • koolaide

                   /  August 24, 2012

                  Totally. And that’s why I think they failed to make him feel bad or acknowledge his own shortcomings in this challenge. Everyone knows he’s not going anywhere til after he’s made a line for fashion week. So he has no f^cks to give about it.

    • David L

       /  August 24, 2012

      Hint to Romney: This is why you’re at 0% among African-American voters.

    • As I posted at ABLC, I can’t take it anymore. I want to discuss the existence of cookies in the library. (Sorry, no link, still driving.)

    • Mitt Romney: “I’m not racist for bringing up Obama’s birth certificate. I’m just PANDERING to racists. Totally different.”

      • Captain_Button

         /  August 24, 2012

        Where is “panderer to racists” on the scale of how bad a thing it is to call someone?

      • dave in texas

         /  August 24, 2012

        I’m jumping up and down on that imaginary like button.

    • The real problem is: Mitt’s just not that funny.

      I swear. Dude can f-ck up the Duck Joke, he’s that unfunny.

      • efgoldman

         /  August 24, 2012

        No soap, radio!

      • dave in texas

         /  August 24, 2012

        You mean this duck joke?

        What do you call a cat that’s eaten a duck? A duck-filled fatty puss.

    • baiskeli

       /  August 24, 2012

      Breaking news: Mitt Romney goes once again to fetch water from the Well of White Racial Resentment.

      I think I’d classify this as the classic “Unforced Error”. Everyone who was receptive to that dog-whistle is already NOT voting for Romney, all I can see this is pissing off some Independents (and guaranteeing Romney’s vote of the AA remains at close to zero).

      • watson42

         /  August 24, 2012

        My response to Romney: no one has asked for your birth certificate, but we *have* asked for your tax returns.

  4. koolaide

     /  August 24, 2012

    Like David L, I had something I wanted to share in the OT (was it sports related?) and can’t remember. So I’ll share that at my dental cleaning I was in a room w/ a big window facing the side street (not the main street on the other side of the bldg). It was nice to see outside right up until two people walked past as I was getting my teeth cleaned. That was odd. I’m sure they thought it was odd to be able to see someone getting their teeth cleaned, too.

    • koolaide

       /  August 24, 2012

      I remember what it was! Lance Armstrong. Is what happened today really a big deal? I mean, isn’t pretty much known that “all” pro cyclists of that era used PEDs or blood doping or whatever you have it. And so Lance probably was, too. And (guilty or not) isn’t what the USADA really doing a witch hunt? And he’s retired now so why do this now instead of focusing on how to keep the current crop of pros clean? Or am I just a big cynic that doesn’t care enough about the forces of good?

      • dave in texas

         /  August 24, 2012

        Yeah, once his teammates stopped having his back on this, it was just a matter of time before it all hit the fan. Since he lives here in Austin, the story has gotten a lot of coverage in the Statesman, and even around here, where he is nigh onto a deity, people have been resigned to this happening eventually.

        And yes, at this point, it really smacks of witch hunt. I think there’s a lot of pettiness involved, because he’s started doing triathlons, and if the USADA comes down on him, he’ll get suspended and not able to compete in triathlons.

  5. dmf

     /  August 24, 2012

    for fridays and the hope for relief from drought:

    FROM A FIELD OF LIGHT
    …Listen, love,
    The fat lark sang in the field;
    I touched the ground, the ground warmed by the killdeer,
    The salt laughed and the stones;
    The ferns had their ways, and the pulsing lizards,
    And the new plants, still awkward in their soil,
    The lovely diminutives.
    I could watch! I could watch!
    I saw the separateness of all things!
    My heart lifted up with the great grasses;
    The weeds believed me, and the nesting birds.
    There were clouds making a rout of shapes crossing a
    windbreak of cedars,
    And a bee shaking drops from a rain-soaked honeysuckle.
    The worms were delighted as wrens.
    And I walked, I walked through the light air;
    I moved with the morning.
    -Roethke

  6. carlosthedwarf

     /  August 24, 2012

    So I’ve been on a week-to-week temp contract since I started at my current job ~2 months ago. Today I got referred to the board for a permanent employment contract at a significantly higher salary, and full benefits, starting sometime between now and the end of September.

    • koolaide

       /  August 24, 2012

      Yay!! Congrats (and fingers crossed that it comes through w/ no last minute rug pulling out from under stuff)

      • carlosthedwarf

         /  August 24, 2012

        Yeah, I’m trying not to get too excited yet–there are still too many ways this could go wrong. But I will celebrate a little bit this weekend.

    • Bookwoman

       /  August 24, 2012

      Excellent news!

    • Wa-hoo!

    • caoil

       /  August 24, 2012

      Much cheering!

    • mightbelying

       /  August 24, 2012

      YAY!

    • Captain_Button

       /  August 24, 2012

      Good luck, but be sure to check the contract for clauses about brain slug implants.

    • watson42

       /  August 24, 2012

      Yee ha!! Congrats! Hopefully they will have you signing on the dotted line soon!

    • mythopoeia

       /  August 24, 2012

      Please have all the high fives.

    • —–
      (that’s the sound of me saying nothing & continuing to CROSS MY FINGERS).

    • helensprogeny

       /  August 25, 2012

      V. late to this thread, but seriously: CONGRATULATIONS. Fingers crossed for implementation of this good news soon.

  7. Goddamn it. I got home only to discover Rob’s midlife crisis had arrived.

    Rob's midlife crisis has arrived.

    A photo posted by Ani Bundel (@anibundel) on

    • carlosthedwarf

       /  August 24, 2012

      At least it’s not a motorcycle. The worst thing that can happen with that thing is that his hand will cramp up.

      • I was adamantly against a motorcycle.
        I told him a red convertible and a 20year old blonde wouldn’t be amiss. I like convertibles and we can put the blond in a maids outfit and put her to work, starting with the laundry. EVERYONE WINS.

        • Captain_Button

           /  August 24, 2012

          I think this is why Camille Paglia wants to bring back polygamy.

    • wearyvoter

       /  August 24, 2012

      It should have been Ms. PacMan.

  8. Have not yet received a call or email or letter from St. Leo about the part-time opening. It’s been more than a week and I don’t know if I missed something.

    I had such hopes.

    /despairs

    • koolaide

       /  August 24, 2012

      thinking good thoughts…thinking good thoughts…thinking good thoughts…

    • Can you call them? Not “Hey, offer me the job already!” but “I was wondering if there is anything else you need from me, and btw, do you know when you’ll be making your decision?”

      As a former hiring manager, I would not take that kind of call amiss: it means you’re still invested in the position and not taking me for granted.

    • wearyvoter

       /  August 24, 2012

      Will cross fingers.

    • My present job, I interviewed the first week of December and they said they’d have an answer within a week. JANUARY 28, they called and offered the job. So don’t despair yet.

    • What l_roberts said: Contact them. (AND FINGERS STILL CROSSED).

    • watson42

       /  August 24, 2012

      I have my fingers and and toes crossed for you!!!

      And I sympathise. I had what I thought was a great phone interview for a position I *really* wanted, they told me they would get back to me last week about an in-person interview……and…….nothing.

  9. dmf

     /  August 24, 2012

    some days you have to choose between hot and humid air and construction flooring fumes, this is one of them.

  10. scone

     /  August 24, 2012

    Two days ago, my boss was in my office, talking about work. Seemingly out of the blue, he said, “Ta-Nehisi Coates???”

    I almost flinched. “Oh god,” I thought. I’ve been outed. I’m going to be fired for spending too much time with the Horde.

    Thankfully, this was not the case. I’m (finally) reading my copy of The Beautiful Struggle, and it was lying out on my desk, where I’d dropped it as I came in that morning.

    My boss continued, ‘I didn’t know he’d written a book.” “Oh, it’s a memoir. I’ve got a signed copy.”

    So that was a little weird. A small, worlds-colliding moment.

    And then yesterday, as I walk past my boss in the hall, he said “Have you read Ta-Nehisi Coates’ new article in The Atlantic?” (I haven’t had a chance to, yet).

    Apparently, he’s a full-fledged fan, who’s excited to have someone to talk to about TNC. On the one hand, this is great. Glad TNC has another fan, glad to have something to talk to my boss about. On the other hand, I’m now a little terrified to post too much over at the mothership!

  11. efgoldman

     /  August 24, 2012

    I’m starting to feel like I’m Charlie Pierce’s flack (although FSM knows he doesn’t need it).
    But today he starts out with a very TNC-like meditation.
    Again, a snark-free piece of very good writing.

    A red, hot sliver of a moon had slipped behind the ridges, and night completely enfolded the landscape. Standing on the old battlefield here at midnight, in the dark with the fog starting to roll in around the rail fences and the monuments scattered in the field that loomed shadowy all around, this is an interesting activity for anyone with an active imagination. I stood for a long time under the statue of General John Buford, the old horse cavalryman who got here first on that weekend in July almost a 150 years ago, the man who surveyed the hills and the long, sloping ridges of this place and thought to himself, This is a place to put an army; this is a place to fight a battle. So he and his men stood right here, stacking up the Confederates for long hours on that first day, hanging on until infantry support arrived. (The infantry was led by General John Reynolds, the Pennsylvanian who would be killed during the initial engagement. His statue is behind Buford’s, black and looming in the night.) By the end of it, even having had to abandon the town, the Union line had formed its “fish hook” on the high ground south of where I was standing until, eventually, out of high hubris or molten ambition, Robert E. Lee threw his army at it on the third day and watched it smash itself into a bloody spray like waves against rocks. All of that happened here, somewhere out there in the dark and the mist, the gray marble statues now moving like ghosts whenever the lights of a car come pouring down Route 30.

    http://www.esquire.com/blogs/politics/gettysburg-republicans-12009056

  12. “Paul Wartenberg and 3 other friends also posted about racism.”

    Thank you facebook!

  13. mightbelying

     /  August 24, 2012

    I am turning in my dissertation on Monday. I have a full draft, 162 pages, sitting on my desktop. I’m going to go print it out because I’m going to NYC for a Birthright reunion tomorrow. I am not freaking out. THIS IS REALLY, REALLY FREAKING WEIRD PEOPLE.

    Also during this process I have learned that anxiety tastes like peanut butter. How do I know this? Because I am eating my feelings.

    • carlosthedwarf

       /  August 24, 2012

      Congratulations! May you pass with flying colors!

      • mightbelying

         /  August 24, 2012

        Thanks, I am keeping my fingers crossed harddd.

    • efgoldman

       /  August 24, 2012

      If you need to hide, you know where we are.
      And: WOOT!

      For most of the women I know, anxiety tastes like chocolate.

      • caoil

         /  August 24, 2012

        Or a mixture of the two.

        • mightbelying

           /  August 24, 2012

          … yup. Right now it tastes like a Thin Mint peanut butter sandwich.

          Until Monday night at midnight I officially have permission to eat ANYTHING I GODDAMN WANT. (Not that I don’t always have permission to eat whatever I want, but generally I am mindful about eating healthy because I know I feel better when I do. I know it might make me feel physically worse to go crazy on the cookies and chocolate and PB etc. but if it is what I need to get through this last push SO BE IT. Also: cheese.)

      • mightbelying

         /  August 24, 2012

        Thanks😀

    • FIRST:

      THEN:

      (And have fun at your reunion!)

      • mightbelying

         /  August 24, 2012

        Oh man the Snoopy dance will so happen. Three. More. Days! (And then two more weeks until the defense, at which point I am hoping to Snoopy dance with my department. We have kind of made it a thing.)

    • koolaide

       /  August 24, 2012

      A finished dissertation! double woot!!!

    • Bookwoman

       /  August 24, 2012

      Crunchy or creamy?

      Many congratulations!!!

      • mightbelying

         /  August 24, 2012

        Huh I have been doing creamy but I think you just inspired me to hit the grocery store. (See above comment re: I GET TO EAT WHATEVER I WANT FOR THE NEXT 3 DAYS SO THERE)

  14. You know, I hear if it’s a legitimate hurricane, the state of Florida has a way to shut that whole thing down.

    • Captain_Button

       /  August 24, 2012

      It may be right around the Tropical Storm – Hurricane line when it is passing Tampa, so its legitimacy may be in doubt. And we still haven’t seen the long form certificate from the NOAA.

  15. ALSO EVERYONE IS IS IMPORTANT:
    RT @MHarrisPerry: On @UpWithChris I’ll be on great panel to talk w/ Ta-Nehisi Coates, @wkamaubell & @jsmooth995 about “‘Fear of A Black President” 

    • Bolded by the host, because: Dude. Very cool!

    • Sue T.

       /  August 24, 2012

      Heh, I was just coming here to post that. Since I’m a longtime Kamau Bell fan, this is like worlds colliding for me. Maybe Bell can ask TNC to appear on “Totally Biased” next week.

  16. caoil

     /  August 24, 2012

    Today’s frantic pace required a Blizzard for lunch. Took the edge off the annoying task we’d been given. I recommend it (um, unless you’re lactose intolerant or diabetic, I guess!).

    • efgoldman

       /  August 24, 2012

      Pronounced blizz-ARD, right?
      Generally, the shakes are the only halfway good things about the McFatSalt places. Halfway.

    • koolaide

       /  August 24, 2012

      I still get a little thrill when the DQ employee turns the blizzard upside down to show that it really is what it’s supposed to be (they still do that, right, it’s been a while since I’ve been to the DQ)

  17. watson42

     /  August 24, 2012

    This has been a really rough week for me, even without all the bullshit going on in the political sphere. I am….weary. I want to crawl into a whole and despair. Instead, I am home early and being productive and thinking about baking banana bread with the backlog of bananas in my freezer. (I always seem to buy one too many.) I am tempted to add chocolate and whisky to the evening’s activities too. What’s everyone else doing to shake off this week?

    • I wish you much chocolate and just the right amount of whiskey and a very, very good night’s sleep.

    • efgoldman

       /  August 24, 2012

      I want to crawl into a whole….
      Into a whole what?
      Victim of autocorrect?

      • Captain_Button

         /  August 24, 2012

        Whole despair is the best/worst kind, not having had all those vital elements bleached out by antidepressants.

      • watson42

         /  August 24, 2012

        Um….a whole pile of chocolate? Chocolate ice cream? 🙂 Actually, just a victim of my short circuiting brain.

    • Captain_Button

       /  August 24, 2012

      After a week of teleworking, cleaning, and procrastinating I am driving 1200 miles back home, quite possibly to be in a hurricane my first day back.

      No whiskey involved, obviously, but lots of caffeine and truck stop junk food.

      • efgoldman

         /  August 24, 2012

        You and Wartenburg should seek high ground together.

    • mythopoeia

       /  August 24, 2012

      1.) Celebratory belated birthday dinner + drinks tonight with a friend I haven’t seen in a while.
      2.) I have promised myself a few hours with an iced coffee and a book tomorrow.

      Also I will clean all the things and bake all the food this weekend, but I think that’s not what you were getting at.

      • watson42

         /  August 24, 2012

        Actually, your plans sound *heavenly*. I might have to make sure I take some time with iced coffee and a book this weekend.

    • Ian

       /  August 24, 2012

      Oh. I wish I could shake off this week. Heading out with three others on Sunday to finish installing four seismic stations. Need to shop, pack, etc. all day Saturday. Once out there we’ll be living 2-3 to a room and working 12-18 hours days, for anywhere from 6-10 days. Or sitting on our asses waiting for the fog to clear. I’m just trying to stay functional until October, when the weather will force us to slow down whether we’re finished or not. And we still haven’t finished moving into our new house.

      • watson42

         /  August 24, 2012

        I was just thinking about your new house yesterday. I think it was because I stopped for coffee next to a construction site. 🙂 It occurred to me at the same time that I miss being in the metal shop because the sounds of construction and the smell of machine oil was relaxing…

        • Ian

           /  August 24, 2012

          Ouch! My new house. You know, it’s really nice having it, even though I know we’re going to find out about 100 alarming things about it over the winter. The porch has a good view. We have more birds, a lot more hardwoods, and the dogs have a bigger pen. There are so many things I should be doing now, before it starts snowing, but my job is so insane right now that I can’t even worry about the house. We can deal with the bad stuff next year.

    • Making drinks for other members of my lab. I’m really interested to see how people like the Bombay Presidency Punch, as the arrack/Smith & Cross combo might be a bit much.

      • Sue T.

         /  August 24, 2012

        Jordan, did you ever get a chance to try the Aperol? I went to my local Beverages & More to buy a bottle — haven’t tried it yet — and funnily enough, the people ahead of me in line were buying three bottles of Aperol!! They said their parents had asked them to pick some up and had no idea what they were planning to do with it.

    • caoil

       /  August 24, 2012

      After I get home, catching up on FB, watching a movie; tomorrow is the cat shelter, a dental appointment, and then a casual dinner/balcony party at the home of one of the main shelter volunteers…Sunday, if it doesn’t rain, I am digging up weeds in half of the yard which I think is a reasonable stress-buster (I pretend the weeds are politicians and then the work goes more quickly). A few minutes of job hunting where I can catch them, and playing with cats.

    • I am cleaning the house from top to bottom. And then napping and blogging and knitting, not necessarily in that order.

    • David L

       /  August 24, 2012

      Judging from the fact that, in the 30 minutes since I got home, I have started the dishwasher, cleaned out the fridge and left the top of the stove soaking in Formula 409 for a few minutes before I go back to scrub, I am working off my excess energy through cleaning.

      • koolaide

         /  August 24, 2012

        if you still have excess energy, you could come over to my place😀

        • koolaide

           /  August 24, 2012

          Ok. That came out WAY wrong. AND NO edit button. oops.

          I meant, come over and clean my place…. ::blushes a lot::

  18. Dang it–there’s something I’m dying to tell someone who knows about computers and databases and XML and all that, but I can’t because this is my real name & it could come back to bite me.

    Dang it all.

    Can’t even hint.

    • David L

       /  August 24, 2012

      Well, darn.

      (Goes back to a fussy JSP he’s been working on for the last hour.)

    • efgoldman

       /  August 24, 2012

      Quick. Grab a new screen name. Muphen statlock ,or something.
      Ditch the picture, also too. Replace it with Reince Preibus, or something
      In fact, now that I think about it, post as Reince Preibus. .
      Or something.

  19. watson42

     /  August 24, 2012

    Bloody hell. I just saw the news that there was a shooting at the Empire State Building – 2 dead, 8 wounded. Is this a thing, now? Mass shootings every week?

    • efgoldman

       /  August 24, 2012

      Ahem. From the Times:
      blockquote Some of those injured might have been shot by the two police officers, who fired 16 rounds at the gunman, (emphasis added)
      The NYPD is the original gang that couldn’t shoot straight. What was the real bad shooting, some years ago, where they shot some poor bastard nine times. Out of 47 shots?

  20. watson42

     /  August 24, 2012

    Wow. And those guys are supposed to be trained. I just checked out the Times. It says further down, “it appears that most or all of the bystanders were struck by one of the 16 police bullets – or fragments of ricochets from thos rounds…”

    • watson42

       /  August 24, 2012

      Hey, this isn’t disqus! That was supposed to be a reply to efgoldman.

    • koolaide

       /  August 24, 2012

      I just. I can’t. I mean, this mass shooting is really just one guy murdering another (terrible tragedy that it is) and then the police turn it into 9 other victims? Thankfully they’re all alive.

  21. efgoldman

     /  August 24, 2012

    OK, very very late in the thread, but i had to drop this somewhere, and this seems like the best place : Yiddish Curses for Republican Jews!
    “May your son the doctor introduce you to his fiancee, Bristol Palin!”
    http://www.yiddishcursesforrepublicanjews.com/# (h/t Balloon Juice)

    You can add your own, also too.