In which I am front-paged at The Daily Beast (aka: Newsweek’s online presence).

No, seriously!

As anyone who reads this blog knows, I began writing regularly for Open Zion — a blog edited by author/journalist/controversial-but-extraordinarily-pleasant holder of opinions Peter Beinart — a few months ago, and Open Zion is hosted by The Daily Beast, which is Newsweek‘s online presence (the question of why Newsweek‘s online presence isn’t called Newsweek.com is above my pay grade).

Today I wrote about the fact that Israel’s governing coalition has fallen apart, rather spectacularly but entirely unsurprisingly. And The Daily Beast put it on their front page! As of this moment in time (10:39 on Tuesday night) it’s item #7 on their rotating stories thinga-ma-jigee that is the very first thing one sees upon going to thedailybeast.com.

And that, my friends, is totally boss, I don’t care who you are!

As is the tradition around these parts, I hereunder provide you with the top of said post; to get the rest, you’ll have to click through.

Now, if you’ll excuse me, I’ll just be over here doing a little jig with Snoopy.

************

MOFAZ TAKES HIS TRUCKS AND GOES HOME.

We learned today that the Israeli Uber-Coalition, a government supported by 94 of the Knesset’s 120 members, has fallen apart. I am hard-pressed to express much in the way of shock.

Shaul Mofaz, recently-elected head of the Kadima party, is taking his trucks and going home because Prime Minister Benjamin Netanyahu failed to come through on a promise to formulate a universal Israeli draft law, one which would include both Palestinians with Israeli citizenship, and ultra-Orthodox Jews, a community currently allowed to study in yeshivas rather than pick up guns.

Leaving aside for the moment the advisability of such a law–the Palestinian-Israeli community has enormous reservations about being drafted into service by the Jewish State, for instance, even if the draft is broadened to include non-military national service, and the Israeli ultra-Orthodox community is well-known for often failing to provide its children with many of the educational basics so necessary to taking part in any essentially secular endeavor–the simple fact of the matter is that nothing in Netanyahu’s political history indicates that he is a man to take bold, controversial action or risk any damage to his position of power within Israel’s political system. The notion that he was going to start bordered on absurd.

To read the rest of the post that The Daily Beast put on its front page (!), click here!

13 Comments

  1. Ian

     /  July 18, 2012

    Number 6! Now it’s number 6! Not sure if that means anything. But yeah, this is awesome. Many congratulations. I like this:

    “Israeli governments so rarely manage to survive an entire four year term that it’s easy to forget that terms exist.”

  2. dmf

     /  July 18, 2012

    hear you roar, well done!

  3. m.

     /  July 18, 2012

    Whoo-hoo! Congrats!

  4. socioprof

     /  July 18, 2012

    And you, my friend, are totally boss. Snoopy-dancing with you!

    • Hey! How was Disney?

      • socioprof

         /  July 19, 2012

        It was the happiest place on Earth.

        It was good. The kids all had a blast. Kiddo#2 has been saying that he misses MickEY Mouze all week.

        I rode the Harry Potter ride at Universal Studios. Quidditch game+Dementors+spiders=one of the scariest things I have ever experienced.

  5. aaron singer

     /  July 18, 2012

    Hope this isn’t too off topic, but what do you think of J Street’s ads attacking Joe Walsh? I’ve seen them a bunch on TV lately.

    • I❤ those ads! And I wish they'd gotten more aggressive on these assholes' asses earlier.

      • aaron singer

         /  July 18, 2012

        Has J Street done a lot of candidate-specific ads before? I don’t think I’ve ever noticed any.

  6. Yay! Congrats, Emily! (The article was excellent, too.)

  7. Caleb

     /  July 25, 2012

    Congrats, Emily! You are one of my favorite people of the internet and I love your new elevated platform🙂