If That’s Your Boyfriend, you might be Me’Shell NdegéOcello

Over at Ta-Nehisi’s place, there’s been a lot of talk of Me’Shell NdegéOcello, and I’ve been reminded of one of tracks that lives on the considerably long list of Best Me’Shell NdegéOcello Songs Ever: “If That’s Your Boyfriend (He Wasn’t Last Night).” (Note: click here for the official video — I love the official clip because Me’Shell is just sooooo cool in it, but I also kind of hate it because it has people reading poetry & whatnot over the track)

*

And even though TNC posted it, I’mma post it, too, because it’s also on the list:

*

Once I get this guitar thing down, I’ll have to take up the bass. Damn.

6 Comments

  1. zlionsfan

     /  July 6, 2012

    Bass is nicer because you rarely have to worry about those “chord” things and because there’s never any confusion about which string is which: they’re all right there, nicely spaced so that you can find each one when you want them.

    On the downside, the strings are just a tiiiiiiny bit heavier, the frets seem a bit farther apart sometimes, and people don’t look at you quite the same way as if you could play guitar. (I have a bass. I can poke through some tabs for certain songs. I don’t think that counts as being able to “play bass”. You might ask why that is all I can do if I’ve had the bass for nearly 30 years – high-school graduation present – and to that I respond: “If I had wings, I’d be Batman.”)

    • (Or possibly just a pretty, pretty butterfly. One can never tell with these things).

      • zlionsfan

         /  July 6, 2012

        Oh no. I would be Batman. They don’t make butterflies in my size.

        However, being a butterfly might have its advantages. All the cool colors and plenty of agility. I wonder how they deal with 105-degree heat?

        Hmm. Maybe I would be a dragon instead. That would resolve the heat problem.

        • PLUS – Imagine how sweaty Batman must get under all that rubber. The mask alone must be hell.

          • zlionsfan

             /  July 6, 2012

            I note there isn’t a place for glasses. They couldn’t go under the mask, nor over it. Contacts, I guess, but what if you had to pop one out? Maybe there are extras in the Batbelt.

            and you’d totally have a case of maskhead. Hey, Mr. Wayne, nice face you have there! Almost looks like you’ve been wearing a mask all day, ha ha! (Think of the tan lines.)

  2. Anyanwu O.

     /  July 6, 2012

    Hello. Me’shell is such a talented artist. Bitter is one of my favorite albums. On it, she does a beautiful version of Jimi Hendrix’s May This Be Love. If it’s possible to be in love with a song, then I’m stone cold in love with this one.