Me on bloggingheads (!).

There’s this really cool thing out there in the blogosphere called bloggingheads tv, in which really cool people sit around ye ol’ computer monitor and jaw about something they know a lot about. It makes for really interesting, fly-on-the-wall type watching, and as I say: It’s really cool.

Well.

Last week, Sarah Posner, author of God’s Profits: Faith, Fraud, and the Republican Crusade for Values Voters, and senior editor at Religion Dispatches, AND a blogginghead herself, on The Posner Show — asked me to do a segment for her show! And so I did. It was posted at the bloggingheads tv site on Friday afternoon — but I cannae post it here! Because this is a free WordPress blog and my options are limited on that score (pretty much anything that isn’t on YouTube is just not possible).

SO.

To view the entire 50 minutes (you heard me), click here.

If you’d like just little 2-4 minute slices of that larger whole, however, that’s an option, too! To view just the bit where I talk about why I left Israel, click here, and why I don’t think we’ll never move back, click here. Interested in the race riots that recently took place in South Tel Aviv? Click here. Jerusalem more your bag? Click here. To see our conversation about if the American Jewish community understands just how far right the Israeli government has swung in recent years, click here. And finally, for my thoughts on if I think the whole Open Zion experiment is a good one? Click here (hint: yes, I do).

Two notes: I consistently said “in the government” when I meant to say “in the coalition.” Also, I referred to the girl as being nearly 8 years old, whereas in reality, she’s nearly 9. Management regrets the errors.

3 Comments

  1. stephen matlock

     /  June 3, 2012

    Thanks for posting this.

  2. Want2Know

     /  June 6, 2012

    I did see the Open Zion conversation and the comments that followed it, which was troubling on several levels. I’m reminded of the old saying “the light at the end of the tunnel you see is the train coming at you.”

    • I realized when that went up over there that I actually have working a policy re: comments – I don’t read comments on my work (with tweets counting as “comments” in this case) where I can’t moderate them. So I didn’t read them at bloggingheads, I don’t read them at Open Zion, but I do read my comments here and any @ replies I get on Twitter. It’s not perfect, because I know I’m also missing out, but it’s the best way I can think to keep myself internet-sane…! Aspirationally, at least.