Time and your blogger.

Note: The clock is turning its back on me. Because I embarrass it so.

You know what takes a lot of time?

Being a parent.

Between the mysterious knee injuries and art-project-stains-that-will-not-come-out, the school plays and endless-bar-mitzvah-related-events, the usual homework and occasional conversation — phew! Who has time for anything else? Like, you know, blog maintenance?

Also work. Work also takes a lot of time, which is a nice thing all told, given how little work there was for a good long while, but, yeah. Work takes up a lot of hours.

Thinking, also. Staring into space, meandering through the thoughts of others, reading for background or general improvement in one’s field — wowie zowie. Not only time-consuming, but also far more tiring than one would think.

All of which by way of a very sorry explanation of why this blog has gone so under-tended of late. Sometimes I juggle it all and produce three useful posts a day; other times, my brain reaches its limit just before the hours do and we’re left with a random music video instead of a proper consideration of some important human fact, foible, or folly.

So please forgive me. Here’s to next week being up to scratch.

Previous Post

9 Comments

  1. helensprogeny

     /  May 18, 2012

    Oh, thank (diety/life force of your choice/understanding)! For a minute there I was afraid you were gong to say you’d decided to pack in the blogging. Please. Don’t.

  2. caoil

     /  May 18, 2012

    There are only so many hours in your day. I think many of us miss you when you’re not around, but we do have other internetty places to go to while away the time.

    Keep breathing. That’s the key. Breathe. –a very wise dwarf

  3. CitizenE

     /  May 19, 2012

    When people have asked me to start a blog of my own, I wonder why? how? My kids are on their own. I live alone. I am retired (sorta since I’ve been putting about 50-60 hours a week into setting up this B&B in the backyard), but there is simply too much for me to do: writing projects–God, I’ll never finish my writing projects, I’ll literally die first; developing my photography chops; doing collage works–all things I want to do. For the 1st time in my life having a house that I really keep neat and clean, the garden, spending time with my family living a few blocks away or an hour away, the reason I moved here. Heck, I don’t take time enough for the spirit on a daily basis–meditating, reading the masters, touching the earth. All that said, “scratch” is from where we start; too late to get up for that I’m afraid; in the middle of the river, in medias res for the rest of it.

    • dmf

       /  May 19, 2012

      perhaps when the setting up turns to settling in you could get one of those relatives. grandchild?, to curate your works on the web for the world to enjoy?
      no need for extra commentary as they speak well for themselves

  4. Captain_Button

     /  May 19, 2012

    I forgive you.

  5. efgoldman

     /  May 19, 2012

    Damn, Emily, A Life? You actually think you have A Life? Don’t you understand that you have sold your soul to the Student Lounge, wholesale (because any damned fool can pay retail)? And subleased it to The Commies of The Lost Battalion Hoard?
    ====
    Actually, you don’t have A Life. You have The Kids. That will pass, and you will miss it.