Mr. Obama? I don’t think Vulcans smile.

…but I’mma forgive you.

PS I’ll just remind readers that the famous Star Trek kiss shared by Nichelle Nichols (Lt. Uhura) and William Shatner (Capt. Kirk) was the first interracial kiss on American television. When, back in the day, Nichols told Martin Luther King that she was considering leaving the show, he apparently told her that she absolutely must do no such thing, “because not only do little black children and do women see you and aspire… but everyone else sees us for the first time the way we are supposed to be – on an equal basis, and on a level of dignity and authority and with the highest of qualifications.” And there she is, in the Oval Office, with the country’s first black President. Some things are just insanely cool, I don’t care who you are.

h/t BuzzFeed

12 Comments

  1. caoil

     /  April 4, 2012

    It’s possible I let out a ‘squee’ when she posted that to twitter last night.

    (also, anyone who hasn’t read her autobiography, run out and do so!)

  2. MommyArtist Lawyer

     /  April 4, 2012

    I can just hear the birthers now. “I knew it…he’s obviously a Vulcan so he couldn’t have been born in Hawaii.”

    • Darth Thulhu

       /  April 4, 2012

      Sorry, but the “man” is clearly a Cylon. Machines aren’t born, ergo he isn’t a natural born citizen, and thus can’t be President.

    • Captain_Button

       /  April 5, 2012

      Slightly* more seriously, didn’t Leonard Nimoy get that gesture from some Jewish ceremony? The conspiracy theorists will love that.

      * But only slightly.

  3. stephen matlock

     /  April 4, 2012

    We’ve come so far.

    This was really good to see.

  4. lebecka

     /  April 4, 2012

    I love that my prez is as big a geek as I am.

  5. Bookwoman

     /  April 4, 2012

    That is so awesome. And she looks gorgeous.

    • Darth Thulhu

       /  April 4, 2012

      The material and pattern of her skirt are beautiful, and a great contrast with her jacket. I’m sure anibundel can talk about it more intelligently than I.

      With her hair as it is, her presentation just beams “red, white, and blue”. Really awesome.

  6. Somewhere, Rev. Martin Luther King, Jr. is smiling and nodding.

  1. Richard's Blog