Another day, another Santorum miracle.

Rick Santorum to Glenn Beck:

On the president’s efforts to boost college attendance, Santorum said, “I understand why Barack Obama wants to send every kid to college, because of their indoctrination mills, absolutely … The indoctrination that is going on at the university level is a harm to our country.”

He claimed that “62 percent of kids who go into college with a faith commitment leave without it,” but declined to cite a source for the figure.

What’s the miracle?

That there is apparently no end to the ways in which Rick Santorum can make me want to headdesk. Just when I thought I’d taken the measure of the man — Blah people are given other people’s money in the form of government handouts, abortion providers should be arrested, the Dutch kill old people for being old — he comes up with some damn new thing.

President Obama wants to indoctrinate our children with harmful, faithless notions — so he’s working to increase enrollment at colleges and universities.

I cannot with this guy. I just cannot.

14 Comments

  1. I want to be sure I understand this:

    Educating kids removes their faith.

    Is that about the gist of it? Because then the conclusion seems kinda harsh.

    (And I say this as someone who is of the Thomasian position of “I believe; help thou my unbelief.”)

  2. SWNC

     /  February 24, 2012

    I just can’t imagine this guy going anywhere in a national presidential election. Maybe I have an overly rosy view of my fellow citizens, but all of the Americans that I know *like* birth control and *want* to send their children to college.

    • efgoldman

       /  February 25, 2012

      …all of the Americans that I know *like* birth control and *want* to send their children to college.
      And how many are Republicans/TeaTards?

    • It says a lot about this election that he’s actually a serious contender.

  3. I’m not sure whether the proper blessing for this miracle is “m’sha-neh ha-b’ri-yot (who makes the creatures different)” or “she-na-tan mei-chach-ma-to l’va-sar va-dam (who has given of divine wisdom to flesh and blood)” — but whichever it is, I’m saying it.

  4. Dex

     /  February 24, 2012

    As much as I am de facto a Team Blue guy, Rick Santorum as the presidential nominee would be a disaster for this country. I’m a firm believer in the idea that democracy functions best with a vigorous and serious opposition. Santorum is basically the opposite of that.

    Seriously, in the history of the US, has there ever been a presidential hopeful who lists as one of their planks that fewer kids should get a college education? As far as bipartisan issues, I feel like the value of a college education is about as widely held as it gets.

    • dmf

       /  February 24, 2012

      have you been following the republican efforts to defund state schools, especially the humanities? st.rick would like us all to go to catholic schools and romney wants more business school grads, and obama wants engineers, all to feed their various gods.

    • I’m kind of torn. On the one hand, I agree with you and don’t want Santorum to have anything other than a 0% chance of actually getting into the White House. On the other hand, part of me wants Santorum, the embodiment of just about everything wrong with the Republican party, to be the nominee and get absolutely crushed in November. I’m not sure how else the Republicans will finally see the light and get off their collective dash towards the cliff edge.

      • wearyvoter

         /  February 26, 2012

        My fear is that Santorum lands at the top of the ticket for the Republicans, and then we have a major disaster in Europe or some such, and Santorum squeaks through.

  5. Being a peon in academia, my issue is more that people are going back to school with these false promises of getting a ‘better job’ when usually what they’ll end up with is more debt and the same piece of paper as everyone else and their mom who are trying to get a piece of the rapidly diminishing pie while piling up loads of debt. The culture of a lot of campuses as far as the powers that be go is not so much about learning or well-roundedness or even skills to do well in life, so much as it is a revenue generator for the college, which more and more sees education as a highly marketable consumer product in a technocracy that continues to devalue the things like the arts and literature and the things that help us understand our fellow humans.

    And also, being deeply ‘religious,’ I’d venture to say that if a kid “loses faith” because they went to college, it has more to do with them possibly getting to that point of life where as adults they decided whether or not to make their parents’ faith their own or not, than it does their instructors. One doesn’t need to go to college to do that, and while I’ve had profs who used their position to preach rather than teach (I was once singled out in an English lit class for “sucking on the tit of Mother Church”), it just gets a little ridiculous to hear the converse of that after awhile.

  6. I wondered (on FB) if Santorum had been to college, and a friend informed me that he went to Penn State. Not kidding. Wonder if he played football.

  7. wearyvoter

     /  February 26, 2012

    He has an undergrad degree and a law degree. Education is for him and his family.

  8. helensprogeny

     /  February 27, 2012

    Just wondering what Rick would say when I told him I did indeed lose my faith in college. In a Bible college run by fundamentalist Baptists, where, against all odds, I was finally taught to think critically in an English class taught by a Calvinist. Life bless you, Jerry Sawyer, wherever you may be today.