Uh… open thread?

Ta-Nehisi is around enough to have posted a post, but hasn’t yet opened a thread, and I won’t be at my desk in 10 minutes, when I would normally step in and open up the student lounge. So I’mma just open this right here and now, and we’ll all just fly by the seat of our collective pants, shall we?

BUT FIRST:

Dear K.Cox,

CONGRATULATIONS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

(And to all who may not know why a Snoopy Dance is in order, may I direct you to this announcement over on Kotaku? And then may I invite you to dance avec moi?)

Standard FYI clause: My rule of thumb is that I wait for 2 hours after Ta-Nehisi would usually open a thread (roughly noon, EST), and if none is forthcoming, I put one up here.

20 Comments

  1. Post for Groundhog Day. The film, of course.

    http://kylopod.blogspot.com/2012/02/film-not-holiday.html

  2. efgoldman

     /  February 2, 2012

    Well, you beat me to it! All hail our K_Cox!!!

  3. efgoldman

     /  February 2, 2012

    Emily! I saw a hint from anibunel yesterday, at the One True Horde. Do you also have a happy outcome in a similar vein?

    • Oh, my “Daily Beast thing” is not nearly in the same vein! First of all, as far as I know there’s no reason to not be open about it!

      But more to the point, it’s not a job. I’ll occasionally be contributing, unpaid, to a blog hosted on the Daily Beast site — not quite the same as being hired full time by one of the biggest names in one’s field!

      K COX RULES!

  4. TNC tweeted (sidebar: we should really invent an Englishy past tense for “tweet”. “Twote”? “Twate”?) yesterday about GOPers using the “Democrat Party” as a slur.

    And I honestly don’t get it. TTMLIS, please. Is it just that they’re saying it wrong and that it’s really annoying and kind of childish? Or is there more context that I’ve yet to hear?

    • Darth Thulhu

       /  February 2, 2012

      It’s a long-running Limbaughism, that many other partisan hacks and an increasing number of Republican pols slip into.

      It’s just petty junior high rudeness given legitimacy because it makes money. Refuse to ever call the party by its actual name, making the shorter name you do use something of a slur. Belittling, insulting, and generally crude.

    • It’s because they accuse us of not being “democratic” in our dealings. That’s the source of it.

  5. Rumor has it TNC has a Lost Battalion thread up. Better late than never…

    P.S. Occupy Komen

  6. Thank you. Seriously. I’ve never had so many cheerleaders for me getting a job before! It’s overwhelming and wonderful. ❤

    • Darth Thulhu

       /  February 2, 2012

      My Barnes & Noble Café Cheerleader Squad during Interview #2 was similarly unexpected and wonderful.

      You completely deserve the cheer squad. Really looking forward to your articles. Good luck with the Kotaku Kommentariat, as they do tend toward feistiness. If you need beheadings or mass slaughter, you know which Horde to call.

  7. dmf

     /  February 2, 2012
    • Dude! Give at least a hint!

      Here, mini-Horde, is a hint:

      After the decline of the auto industry, riots, rampant crime, and urban decay, the city of Detroit has been struggling to find a new identity. Looking to inspire change, artist Tyree Guyton began to use paint and found objects to transform 2 city blocks into a provocative and colorful art installation. The art project on Heidelberg Street has since become a mecca for artists and stands as a symbol of Detroit’s ongoing artistic renaissance.

  8. dmf

     /  February 2, 2012

    not a kimmel fan but:

  9. OMG, there was an open thread over here and I MISSED it. I am a bad person.

    • Hardly! TNC opened his at the exact same moment, according to our time stamps, and the party moved. ‘salllll good.