I’m so confused! Open Thread

Ok, so Ta-Nehisi is clearly blogging up a storm and even though the time stamps indicate pre-scheduling, he’s interacting in comments, so he’s genuinely AROUND, but no open thread! And when I asked on Twitter – no reply!

So what the hell. Open thread, for those who may be in need, until TNC gets around to it.

Standard FYI clause: My rule of thumb is that I wait for 2 hours after Ta-Nehisi would usually open a thread (roughly noon, EST), and if none is forthcoming, I put one up here.

71 Comments

    • Hurrah! Not precisely dead yet, but hopefully the idea will simply disappear into obscurity.

      • This is kind of an important moment (although – what moments, really, aren’t important anymore?) after the tabling of SOPA/PIPA- maybe they were originally intended for good (like, stopping piracy and protecting IP)- Can we come up with a suitable alternative? It’s fantastic that the outcry and mobilization of opposition was so fierce and effective in stopping these pieces of legislation, but to simply end here and shrug off the original problems that the bills were intended (allegedly) to fix would be a poor finish.

        • Captain Button

           /  January 20, 2012

          I can’t tell if it is a good, bad, or indifferent bill, but there is this:

          As the House and Senate’s anti-piracy bills increasingly look like they’re on their way to the trashcan, Rep. Darrell Issa and Sen. Ron Wyden must be taking tap dance breaks, as they push forward their alternative piece of legislation: OPEN. The position of the bipartisan, bicameral bill is interesting. Issa, a California Republican just introduced the bill to the House on Wednesday, and Wyden, an Oregon Democrat, introduced it to the Senate late last year.

          http://www.theatlanticwire.com/technology/2012/01/sopa-pipa-alternative-bill-just-found-opening-its-path-forward/47658/

    • Captain Button

       /  January 20, 2012

      It’s just pining for the fnords!

    • efgoldman

       /  January 20, 2012

      Or, as someone suggested last week ,they’re just waiting for some defense or appropriations bill to which they can attach it as a rider, which the president (as the theory goes) would not dare veto.

  1. More rhum! Last night I wrote up the third piece in my series reviewing the line of rhum agricoles from Rhum J.M., which comes with a nice little tiki drink.

    http://cocktailchem.blogspot.com/2012/01/rhum-agricole-reviews-rhum-jm-vsop.html

    I’m pretty excited to try the even older 1997 vintage bottling of their rhum, which I was able to snag for 50% off last weekend.

  2. mythopoeia

     /  January 20, 2012

    Friday poll: When I say “Moomintroll,” your reaction is:

    a) lolwut?
    b) Is that like a comment troll?
    c) Those were the best ever and I want to have adventures like Snufkin!

    Bonus (related) question: What country did you grow up in?

    • Isn’t he a hippo?
      (I taught preschool in a synagogue with a whole lot of hand me down books, and a wildly diverse population.)

    • middling

       /  January 20, 2012

      c !
      LOVE LOVE LOVE the Moomin books!

      Tove Jansson’s books for adults are good too, btw.

    • Sorry, I have to go with a).

      But I’m beginning to feel I might have missed out. Snufkin?

      • mythopoeia

         /  January 20, 2012

        Your children? They are the perfect age for these books: Some of the most imaginative and engaging fantasy stories ever written. Snufkin is the Ur-Tramp, a character who has adventures with a harmonica and a hat. The Moomins are a jolly, homey family who are not averse to an adventure here and there themselves (though Papa prefers to recount them in his memoirs), and the Snork Maiden…well, she’s the Snork Maiden.

        http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Moomin has got it covered.

    • OMG Moomins! My friends gave me a little Japanese figurine of Snufkin for Christmas and I was so happy! Also, Tove Jansson was queer.

      I was born and raised in America.

  3. By watching the debate lat night, you missed Miss Piggy on Project Runway. http://t.co/tXCREyrc

  4. caoil

     /  January 20, 2012

    I am greatly enjoying this poetry post on the Hairpin today. Might just have to find a copy of this text for myself!

  5. Lemme just repeat what I said about Tatooine: damn is that planet big…

    P.S. join us on Star Wars: The Old Republic Namaadi Corridor server and become part of the Lost Battalion of the Horde guild!

  6. Bookwoman

     /  January 20, 2012

    RIP Etta James. Let us all bow our heads and sing together: http://youtu.be/_1uunRdQ61M

  7. Captain Button

     /  January 20, 2012

    Did someon say “mattress” to Mr. Lambert?

  8. BJonthegrid

     /  January 20, 2012

    It’s always the little things in life that makes one so hopeful for the future. Today my oldest told me to have a good day before I could tell him to have a good day. I love watching Obama sing Al Green’s song. Stephen Colbert made an awesome Rumplestiltstin joke on Morning Joe and HCR ruled that insurance companies have to provide contraceptive coverage free of charge! Lo to the Bastard that tries to bring me down!

  9. Neocortex

     /  January 20, 2012

    So I was at Occupy Congress (which involved at least a couple thousand people from 80+ different Occupy sites) earlier this week, and the last march went from the Capitol to the Supreme Court to the White House and back to the Capitol, with some time at each place (incidentally, that makes for a very long march).

    It was an awesome day, but on that last march, outside the White House fence, somebody tossed a smoke cannister a few feet to the other side. This caused a couple hundred people who were in that immediate area to believe that we were being tear gassed, and panic, and start to run (I was in that section with my medic buddy, yelling at people to stop running, while pulling on protective gear).

    Apparently someone was handing out smoke cannisters and trying to convince people to throw them (I am glad that nobody else did). Which I read as provocateur behavior. Misguided jerks who want to throw things, as has happened occasionally in, say, Oakland, just do it, they don’t incite random people to do it. Provocateurs incite.

    At any rate, whether the person who was giving them out and the person who threw one (who might be the same person) were provocateurs or just jerks…thanks, a-holes, for panicking a bunch of innocent nonviolent protesting people – one guy had an asthma attack shortly after – and ensuring that that is the thing that gets media coverage. And putting everybody in danger.

  10. Bookwoman

     /  January 20, 2012

    Inspired by Captain Button, what’s your favorite Python sketch? This is mine: http://youtu.be/crIJvcWkVcs

    • I think The Crimson Permanent Assurance sequence near the opening of “The Meaning of Life” is my favorite.

      • Exactly. This one. I love the pirate accountants.

      • David L

         /  January 20, 2012

        Running through my head since the first moment I saw this: “It’s fun to charter an accountant! And sail the wild accountan-(cy/sea)!”

    • Captain Button

       /  January 20, 2012

      The Management Training Course Interview:

      One of the recurrent themes in Python, people doing completely insane things and being totally straight and mundane about them. Like this or the Ministry of Silly Walks.

      The flip side was when characters get all upset about trivial stuff, like Count von Zeppelin when you call it a “balloon”.

      I’ve sometimes wondered is this is a good analogy for how people with Asberger’s Syndrome see the world.

      • Python definitely took those things to extremes, but your analogy isn’t totally off-base. The difficulty in seeing things from other perspectives (Rocking back and forth in a ball is weird?) and dealing with language in a fairly literal manner (But it means *this*!) are both pretty common traits.

    • efgoldman

       /  January 20, 2012

      Well, all of Holy Grail, of course.
      But, for a short piece, The Parrot Sketch, not even close.
      Which is why I am leaving instructions for it to be played at my funeral, just sayin’.

    • caoil

       /  January 20, 2012

      That’s tough. It’d be between
      The Spanish Inquisition
      and
      The Architect(‘s?) Sketch

    • helensprogeny

       /  January 20, 2012

      So hard to choose: The Argument; Upper Class Twits Race; The Cheese Shop; The Lumberjack Song; Visiting Sartre; Confuse a Cat; Eric the Fish; Lemming of the BDA. Holy Grail. A genuinely staggering body of work these guys put forth in to the world.

  11. No power or cell connection. Am macgyvering with cat battery and router and wireless to view snatches of email.you in the 21st Century -I envy you.

    • A CAT BATTERY?

      How does that work exactly?

      (Also: Yikes! Stay safe and warm and all that!)

      • You pet the cat for about thirty seconds, at this time of year, and he generates electricity for an hour.

        (My nose still smarts from the spark a kitty kiss set off the other day.)

        • David L

           /  January 20, 2012

          But the look on a cat’s face is hilarious after it leans in to sniff someone/something and gets a static shock on its snout.

        • Aww man! How could I forget the kitty kisses that give sparks? Oh, Chauncie, of blessed memory. She loved me as best she could.

      • CAR BATTERY!

        i was typing on my cell phone while it was connected to the extension cord running to the service closet where the router was kept.

        I MAKE ONE SMALL TYPO.

        I went outside to dig out my car – 2-3 inches of granular, icy snow, with 2 inches of ice on top, with 2-3 inches of fresh granular snow. It’s 38 and sleeting. My car, she not going anywhere.

        We are drawing straws to see who we eat first.

        The good news, instead of an ice storm/winter storm warning, we now have a flood watch. Yay winter in the NW.

        • helensprogeny

           /  January 20, 2012

          I vote for Johnson. He has a gammy leg.

        • helensprogeny

           /  January 20, 2012

          Also too, I’m glad it’s not a cat battery. And that you’ve found a wormhole to the 21st century. Sending you warm thoughts from 73 degrees and sunny. Hope you dig out soon.

          • My sister in Tucson sent pictures of her and her husband lying out by the pool with drinks, saying “oh, it’s so hot here.”

            • helensprogeny

               /  January 20, 2012

              Oh that’s just cruel. But I do have my front door open right now because it’s warmer outside than it is inside.

        • Yes, what Helen said. Much better to have an actual battery and a wormhole.

          Perhaps before you eat people, you could eat the cat and the worm that made the hole?

          • Well, we have light (after a fashion), and now that the refrigerator/freezer is no longer keeping things cold, I’m cooking up all the once-frozen meat on the grill. We’re going to eat good, if you like just meat and fish.

        • efgoldman

           /  January 20, 2012

          Yeah, but our way (Emily’s way) was much, much funner!
          You mean you coulda’ got out of those cuffs at any time?
          No, only when it was funny.

  12. Captain Button

     /  January 20, 2012

    From memory, from the Mad Magazine version of Thomas Edison:

    “Gentlemen, believe it or not I actually generate electrictiy when I pet this cat.”

    “But it is not enoguh to be useful, does anyone know where I can find a 15 foot pussy cat?”

    “No? How about two & 1/2 footers?”

  13. David L

     /  January 20, 2012

    The fun of being one of the drivers of the information age… The day you’re preoccupied and sleepy (because what’s preoccupying you caused you to wake up at 3:30 and be able to get back to sleep) is the day the bug you thought could wait until Monday to be fixed turns out to be impacting people’s ability to meet a deadline you didn’t know existed.

    • David L

       /  January 20, 2012

      slight correction… I was unable to get back to sleep. Prefixes are important.

  14. David L

     /  January 20, 2012

    Just thinking about the date… One year from today is either Barack Obama’s second inauguration or the inauguration of the 45th President of the United States. Unless it’s pushed to the next day because it’s on a Sunday next year, but I don’t recall the Constitution providing such an out.

    • Captain Button

       /  January 20, 2012

      There was some vice president who refused to be sworn in on Sunday after the president died.

  15. dmf

     /  January 20, 2012

    The Fury Of God’s Good-bye

    One day He
    tipped His top hat
    and walked
    out of the room,
    ending the argument.
    He stomped off
    saying:
    ‘I don’t give guarantees’.
    I was left
    quite alone
    using up the darkness.
    I rolled up
    my sweater,
    up into a ball,
    and took it
    to bed with me,
    a kind of stand-in
    for God,
    what washerwoman
    who walks out
    when you’re clean
    but not ironed.
    When I woke up
    the sweater
    had turned to
    bricks of gold.
    I’d won the world
    but like a
    forsaken explorer,
    I’d lost
    my map.

    Anne Sexton

  16. corkingiron

     /  January 20, 2012

    I want to wish the Chicago Horde a great meet-up tomorrow.

  17. wearyvoter

     /  January 20, 2012

    It is a bit icy here in lower Flatlandia so I am not leaving town at all tomorrow. Fortunately, my avatar can travel and will be saying hi for me to the Chicago Hordelings. I will be thinking of you with no small sense of envy as you gather at Anna Sather’s and nosh upon pancakes and lingonberries and pancakes and so on in beautiful Chicago. (P.S. Pictures, please.)