“You’re a dedicated swallower of fascism” – Fridays with Billy.

Readers may feel free to dedicate this song to whomsoever they feel it best dedicated to.

There you are standing in the bar
And you’re giving me grief about the DDR*
And that chip on your shoulder gets bigger as you
get older
One of these nights you’re gonna get caught,
It’ll give you a pregnant pause for thought
You’re a dedicated swallower of fascism

Time up and time out
For all the liberties you’ve taken
Time up and time out for all the friends that
you’ve forsaken
And if you choose to waste away like death is back in fashion
You’re an accident waiting to happen

*I’m pretty sure the reference here is to the Deutsche Demokratische Republik, aka East Germany. In the clip below, Billy swaps out “DDR” for “USSR.”

full lyricsWhat is Fridays with Billy?

Next Post

3 Comments

  1. Darth Thulhu

     /  January 13, 2012

    Gotta say, I keep reading “grief about the DDR” as mockery for Dance Dance Revolution.

    I’ll be over here in the corner.

  2. Lasker

     /  January 15, 2012

    All I could think of was “Dedicated follower of fashion” by the Kinks.

    Even after clicking through and hearing the (completely different) I keep hearing that line in my head – in the wrong song!