Happy New Year II: What are you doing New Year’s Eve?

I love this song, and I love this rendition of it. I had no idea Zooey Deschanel would have such a lovely alto! I think if I’d had to, I might have guessed she had some sort of flutey, whisper-light voice that I would find twee. Yay for being wrong!

So though I’ve already wished one and all a Happy New Year, I thought I’d do it again, and in a slightly less somber fashion, with this lovely tune. Happy 2012! And may all our surprises be pleasant ones.

(They’re oddly silent for the first four or five seconds. Don’t crank your speakers!)

21 Comments

  1. She is a professional cabaret singer and fronts a band called “He and She” (I think that’s the name). She is much better singer than she is an actress, in my opinion…though I admit easily to my longstanding Zooey crush! (I shared this same link on Facebook)

    She plays Uke! I play Uke! It must be kismet! 😉

    • I just find the whole “adorkable” notion mildly annoying, and so because of her press, I haven’t paid much attention to her career (and, it should be noted, still haven’t seen 500 Days of Summer, or anything other than a couple of episodes of The New Girl, so I know I really don’t know what I’m talking about), but I just assumed that She & Him would annoy me. Like Feist, only more so (+ a boy).

      As I say: Yay for being wrong!

      And yes. Kismet! Surely, it’s kismet. : )

  2. SWNC

     /  December 31, 2011

    What am I doing on New Year’s Eve? Crashing on the couch with champagne and “Dexter.” After hosting a 3 year old’s birthday party today, I’ll be lucky to make it to 9:00 pm. (It’s midnight somewhere.)

    A very happy New Years to you and yours!

    • It’s always midnight somewhere! : )!

      (How’d the party go? Man, I miss toddlers. I wish I could have come helped!)

    • SWNC

       /  December 31, 2011

      The party was awesome. I wish you could have been here, too! At the sprout’s request, she had a chocolate cake with green marzipan whales on top and party hats for everyone. The highlight, though, was a sweet friend who was on leave from the Marines and on the East Coast for the first time in 4 years. It was lovely beyond expressing to see him happy, safe and whole.

  3. Two very sweet kids (hey, at my advanced age, they’re still kids!) singing & just being all nice & gentle. A good reminder of what’s good in this world.

    Thanks for sharing.

  4. dmf

     /  December 31, 2011

    supposed to be heading up on the roof in a bit to watch fireworks but it just started raining so we shall see, happy new year all, we deserve a slightly easier one I think

  5. Darth Thulhu

     /  December 31, 2011

    Getting off work now, heading to place of friend who just got out of hospital last week after having a pancreatic tumor removed. Other friends and I will help friend and friend’s wife put all the kids to bed, grab a meal, and then celebrate New Year.

    Then home to sleep and back to work tomorrow morning! Oo-rah for retail🙂

    Happy New Year, y’all

  6. CitizenE

     /  January 1, 2012

    Had the 13 year old granddaughter over–probably about 5th on her list, but friends were either grounded or out of town, so no late night overnights for her. Had El Boring Dick Clark on for a while, then we watched over popcorn Bridge to Terebithia (which had a very plain Zooey Deschandel in it as the main character’s music teacher–the 13 year old boy also had a mad crush on her). Granddaughter who had both read the book and seen the movie before had told me it was sad (it was, but I won’t spoil it here for others), but was willing to indulge me. During the course of it, over popcorn, I listened to her blow by blow oh so worldly 13 year old acid eyed critique of how it failed as a fantasy to be as convincing as it might be (this from Twilight’s number 1, if there could be such a thing, fan), while she madly texted several friends simultaneously.

    One scene where Deschanel’s character takes her 13 year old male charge to the museum, she mused upon the lack of appropriateness about such a gesture. (When I was 13, I had an art teacher, who made me, and every other 13 year old fellow swoon. It was my very first experience of up close and personal too beautiful to look at. If she had asked me to accompany her to a museum, I would have melted into my desk.) I related, however, a memory of a teacher I had in 9th grade, who was just the greatest pal to a lot of us, really got and enjoyed the adolescent energy, and who took us, but never singly, places. My granddaughter had an art teacher who similarly got the kids, tolerated cussing, and was just herself, without any airs.

    After the movie was over, 10 PM, I went to bed wishing my granddaughter a happy new year. This morning when I woke up, instead of being in bed in the second bedroom, there she was on the couch in the den, asleep, the tv still going.

    • dmf

       /  January 1, 2012

      Year’s end,
      all corners
      of this floating world, swept.
      -Basho

  7. corkingiron

     /  January 1, 2012

    Ms. Corkingiron and I stayed up until midnight – barely! Had the obligatory sip of bubbly then off to bed. Yesterday I delivered kids and grandkids to the ferry and returned home. We spent the first hour revelling in the fact that we had so much room! And no toys underfoot – or old cookie bits and leaking sippy-cups! Then we spent the next few hours moping around missing toddlers. Ah well.
    Today we will take two glasses and a bottle of Scotch to a secluded spot on the beach – we will pour out three measures; one measure for the ocean as an offering to time and mystery; then we shall sit and remember all the people we have loved who are no longer with us. It’s a poignant thing, to be sure – but not truly sad. Our memories of them don’t permit much sadness.

  8. We had a Mayan Catastrophe Party combined with a Bucket List Party – the world was going to end, so what would you want to do before the end of the world?

    Number one for me – get the damned novel published.

    The rest were just things to do or places to go.

    • dmf

       /  January 2, 2012

      I see he just posted on it, will be interested to see if horders notice that he is hinting again about how this isn’t a life’s work.

      • Well, I don’t think he’s ever suggested that it’s a life’s work, but I don’t think he sounds like he’s going to stop anytime soon, either.

        My husband heard him on On The Media when he was being interviewed & told me about it – having now seen his post, I want to listen even more!

        • dmf

           /  January 2, 2012

          my sense is that he is paying his bills while his wife is in grad school

          • I should hope so! : )

            Whatever. I think that his life goals as a writer have been changing before our very eyes. He’ll do what he’s doing until he does something else, I figure.

            • dmf

               /  January 2, 2012

              sure he has been quite open at how his life is shaping up and I’m glad to see him spreading his wings, was wondering (exercising my sociological imagination as it were) more about the future of the horde, there have been moments (many of them here) when it has become an organized force for action/justice but I’m not sure that the core will hold without an organizing personality.

              • The Horde will likely disperse when the Lord of the Horde leaves for better intellectual climes.

                I love that man – I surely do – but an eagle’s gotta fly when he’s ready.

                The rest of us will muddle along somehow.

  9. wearyvoter

     /  January 2, 2012

    Spent New Year’s Eve watching part two of series/season 5 of the Doctor Who reboot, borrowed from ye olde local library. Hubby is catching up, and speculating, and I’m having fun crowing “spoilers” here and there. I told him to watch the body language between the Doctor and Amy if he wants a hint of where the relationship is going. (Hubby has not yet seen series 6. I’m number 25 on the waiting list for the set at the library. We should get it just in time for Easter at this rate.🙂 )