FOR THE HORDE (arm aloft, she charged ahead) – an open thread.

It’s looking very much as if our good friend and Khan Ta-Nehisi won’t be around today, and so I thought a new open thread might be in order. I may put up a real post later this afternoon, but please feel free to dip in and out over the long weekend – sometimes you want to go where everybody knows your (screen)name! Even on a holiday weekend. Sometimes especially on a holiday weekend.

And speaking of which: My wishes and hopes for this holiday season, and all our holiday seasons, can be found here, if you enjoy that sort of thing.

And further speaking of which: Whoever you may be, whatever you may celebrate (or not), however you may feel about this time of year and the holidays therein — all the best, from me to you. Merry, Happy, and all good things! xo, ellaesther

142 Comments

  1. Captain Button

     /  December 23, 2011

    Bah.

    Humbug.

    • You know, people would look at that word differently if instead the saying was, “Yay, humbug!”

    • And so say all of us! Kinda. Sorta. Occasionally.

      Hey, do like the Jews and go to a movie and eat Chinese.As long as you like Chinese food, it’s kind of hard to go wrong.

      (My son actually doesn’t like Chinese food, so we’ll be eating pumpkin pancakes after the movie. I give and I give…).

      PS And then, because I am not a monster & every Grandma deserves to have her grandchildren over on whatever holiday she celebrates, we will go to Grandma’s “to help her celebrate Christmas.” Just like she (and my sister!) helped us light our candles last night.

      • I’m making falafel this weekend. Suck on that, Christmas.

      • NealH

         /  December 23, 2011

        Pumpkin Pancakes! That’s what we’ll be having too. Then shrimp and grits for dinner.

      • efgoldman

         /  December 23, 2011

        My son actually doesn’t like Chinese food…
        Oy!! Are you sure he’s really Jewish?
        There’s only one really good Chinese restaurant in this part of RI. The wait for takeout tonite will be an hour or more (I know from experience).
        Since we’re proudly “the most Catholic state in the country” they might not even be open Sunday.

      • mythopoeia

         /  December 23, 2011

        My combined Jewish-Christian family has planned Christmas Eve services tomorrow, Christmas gifts the following morning, and then pancakes, a movie, and Chinese food.

        I can’t wait.

      • MightBeLying

         /  December 23, 2011

        Last year on Christmas I stopped by my dad’s house on my way home. Being the good half-Jew that I am, I suggested that we go out for Chinese food. As we stood at the counter, a guy ran in and asked if any of us knew the owner of the car that was on fire in the parking lot. We looked out the window. Yup, dad’s car. Totally on fire.

        While the cops were driving me back to my dad’s place I asked him, “well, NOW do you believe in the baby Jesus?”

      • Ok I did my due diligence and scrolled around but couldn’t find this posted anywhere, and it’s hilarious, so: http://www.hulu.com/watch/1373/saturday-night-live-christmas-for-the-jews-song

        I got here via TNC, anyhow. Thanks for hosting the OTAN.

        • Ok I did my due diligence and scrolled around but couldn’t find this posted anywhere, and it’s hilarious, so (link broken): http://www.hu lu.com/watch/1373/saturday-night-live-christmas-for-the-jews-song

          I got here via TNC, anyhow. Thanks for hosting the OTAN.

          • Hey there! I’m sorry you got stuck in moderation and then appeared twice – I’m not around on Shabbat, but the sun has set and here I am.

            And this is most awesome. Thank you! : )

            • Hi! Thanks…I’m so embarrassed…I thought maybe live links were why I got moderated…and then, feeling a total creeper, I posted it twice! Gah.

              • And now I’m overfunctioning as a commenter with all the ellipses. I need to stop baking and posting at the same time!

    • caoil

       /  December 23, 2011

      But humbugs are a most excellent candy! Don’t say bah to them!

  2. Boo fricking hoo. Am at work. But in about four hours, I will not be at work.

    And then I will say yahoo!

    • /setting clock.

    • efgoldman

       /  December 23, 2011

      When I was in radio, I worked *all* the holidays (overnights) but didn’t take the double time.
      Then in early December I put in for the two weeks of holiday pay. Shazem! Instant holiday bonus, at a place that didn’t give any.

  3. Captain Button

     /  December 23, 2011

    Speaking of Orson Scott Card, years and years ago he did a “Secular Humanist Revival” at a science fiction convention that I really liked.

    I stopped reading his books sometime in the 1980s, not for any real reason but just not getting around to them. I’m aware that he has become, err, “controversial” since then but have never been motivated to find out the details beyond “doesn’t like gays”.

  4. Blog Flog: I got my Saturnalia Wish List up…

    • Captain Button

       /  December 23, 2011

      I have trouble commenting on blogspot, sorry.

      Every time you mention librarianing I always think of the Monty Python sketch where Mr. Phipps dresses up in a gorilla suit to try and get a job as a librarian.

      Having a junkyard mind full of useless trivia has its downsides.

    • Dudes, it’s the end of the fourth or fifth Mayan calendar: it just means there’s no Mayans left to carve out another one!

      FTMFW.

    • Dude, I left a comment within, like, seconds of you posting this, and it has yet to appear. Do you not like me anymore? I’m a delicate flower, you know. I can’t take the pressure!

  5. Captain Button

     /  December 23, 2011

    Regarding the payroll tax extension: Is it really all done now, or will there be another hoorah next week when things get signed with the wrong color ink or somesuch?

    • I’m guessing Option B.

      Because that’s how we do.

      #sigh

    • helensprogeny

       /  December 23, 2011

      My sense of it is that it’s done for now (once Obama signs) but will be revisited in a similarly ugly and frustrating fashion when it expires again in a couple of months. This is a mere pause in the hostilities. Watching Congress “work” these days makes my head ache and spin, but somehow I can’t look away.

  6. Work from home today. I’m reading this enormous admin guide, on about p. 200 of 600.

    Nothing is more exciting than reading page after page of code snippets.

    • Every few months, someone will suggest that I could make my daily bread copy-editing/proof-reading. And I’m like: Dude. No. I would suuuuuuck.

      Hats off to those who do that work well!

      • wearyvoter

         /  December 23, 2011

        I do lighter levels of proofing work in my job’s “other duties as assigned” category and there are times when it is a deadly snore fest.
        I have a co-worker who personifies the gold standard of copy editing. (Her specialty is scientific and technical writing.) I bow before her superior skills of editing, fact checking, and so on.
        There are many publications whose upper management doesn’t consider copy editing to be of added value, but you can tell when copy editing hasn’t happened. (Note to upper management at newspapers: Word processing spell check programs are not up to the task.)

  7. Eight bunny ear pieces complete. Assembly in to four ears in process. Cat not helping.

    • Well, you know. They’re bunnies. What cat would leave them alone?

      PS: Plsplspls post pictures of them on the girls once all is said and done!

    • SWNC

       /  December 23, 2011

      Why do you need 12 bunny ears?

      • I’m not sure what kinda crazy math they do in southwestern North Carolina, but she has eight pieces, which will be assembled into four ears, two per hat, for each of the nieceling twins.

        /scratches head

        • assembly complete. a little stumped how to attach them to the hat so they will stand vaguely upright. may move on to pompom and flower creation as a way of procrastinating on the problem.

          • doginajacket

             /  December 23, 2011

            I made bunny costumes a couple of years ago. The main piece of advice I can offer is NOT to use the wire mesh sold at craft stores as armature material for sculptures. As soon as you start dancing the wires break and all of a sudden your ears are totally flat.

            • these are for two year olds. SIL would kill me if there was wire involved.

              Pompom failure occurred. Flower successes are being had. time is running short today, pompoms and ear attachments may be delayed until tomorrow.

              • doginajacket

                 /  December 23, 2011

                I wonder if you could cut the ears out of a plastic bottle, including enough of the bottom of the bottle to provide a base for the ear to stand up from? A largish laundry detergent bottle should be big enough to allow both ears to share the same base, giving more stability.

                I am sorry for your pompom failure and happy for your flower successes.

        • SWNC

           /  December 23, 2011

          Oookay–I’m getting a picture now.

  8. dmf

     /  December 23, 2011

  9. They sent me a letter telling me that my blood is “special” and I’m pretty sure it’s just a hard-sell to get me to donate again but man, I am a sucker for being told I am special.

    • Darth Thulhu

       /  December 23, 2011

      Unicorn-Rainbow-Positive also?

    • wearyvoter

       /  December 23, 2011

      I received an extra-special thank you note from our local blood bank when I hit 3 gallons. I need to go next week during break and drop a pint. The schedule this month has not allowed for a trip to the vampire squad.

    • socioprof

       /  December 23, 2011

      Sooookie?

  10. wearyvoter

     /  December 23, 2011

    Merry Solstice-dated holiday of your choice. Our Christmas trek to Michigan will begin tomorrow morning rather than today as originally planned. Computers know when you are on deadline; they will balk like a GOP-majority House versus Obama and cause everything that needed to be done by Wednesday to wrap up late today. (Translation: Hubby pulled an all-nighter of sorts, got home at 3:00 am, and was back in at 7:00 am.) Just as well: My head wants me to check into guillotines if the ibuprofen and sudafed don’t clear this massive headache.
    The cats know that Something is Going On. Shoulder cat has been draping herself over me all morning. Lap cat is taking a nap to prep for her shift of coming to help me. (Note to cats: Occupy Suitcase is not going to stop our already-delayed departure.)

  11. Captain Button

     /  December 23, 2011

    I am or at least was a “CMV hero” according to the local blood bank. Apparantly this means that I never had a disease that most people get but never even notice. So my blood was useful for people with bad immune systems that couldn’t handle CMV.

  12. corkingiron

     /  December 23, 2011

    Wanted to wish the horde a great holiday. I am expecting to be buried in children and grandchildren – I will love the ones under my roof and miss the ones who couldn’t make it. I also want to especially wish those of our number who have had serious health issues a better and healthier 2012.

    I’m glad I found you lot – it has helped keep me mentally active and forestalled the inevitable memory loss that us oldsters seem afflicted with. All the best.

    • efgoldman

       /  December 23, 2011

      I’m glad I found you lot – it has helped keep me mentally active and forestalled the inevitable memory loss that us oldsters seem afflicted with. All the best.
      Well, we’re a lot less boring than Canadia!
      And I am jealous of your grandfatherly status, also too.

    • caoil

       /  December 23, 2011

      And back to you, across the pond!

  13. corkingiron

     /  December 23, 2011

    I’m glad I found you lot – it has helped keep me mentally active and forestalled the inevitable memory loss that us oldsters seem afflicted with. All the best.

  14. dmf

     /  December 23, 2011

    for fridays and star gazers like citE:
    Spinoza
    by Jorge Luis Borges

    The Jew’s hands, translucent in the dusk,
    polish the lenses time and again.
    The dying afternoon is fear, is
    cold, and all afternoons are the same.

    The hands and the hyacinth-blue air
    that whitens at the Ghetto edges
    do not quite exist for this silent
    man who conjures up a clear labyrinth—
    undisturbed by fame, that reflection
    of dreams in the dream of another
    mirror, nor by maidens’ timid love.

    Free of metaphor and myth, he grinds
    a stubborn crystal: the infinite
    map of the One who is all His stars.

  15. SWNC

     /  December 23, 2011

    I was at a Christmas party with my oldest and closest friends last night, so I’m really in the spirit now. We used to be the kids running around the party, snatching cookies off the table, now it’s our kids doing that. My oldest friend’s mom had an open door policy towards her children’s friends. I can’t keep track of all the nights I spent at her house and meals I ate with her family. A lot of us came to consider her a second mother, and are still close to her. And none of us would consider missing her annual Christmas gathering. Dear ones were there from the West Coast and the UK, we celebrated an engagement and a baby on the way–light in the darkness, indeed.

    And just as I’m thankful for my old friends, I’m thankful for you all, my newer invisible friends. Love and light to all of you.

    • efgoldman

       /  December 23, 2011

      I’m thankful for you all, my newer invisible friends. Love and light to all of you.
      What a wonderful turn of phrase. Wish I’d thought of it. Definitely cosign, all of you here and all the rest of the horde who don’t follow.

    • caoil

       /  December 23, 2011

      *like*
      Thank you for expressing it so well. And best wishes of the season to you & your family!

    • Darth Thulhu

       /  December 25, 2011

      Merry everything!

  16. Guys, K. Cox bought me Plants vs. Zombies for Christmas on Steam.

    I celebrate her.

    • I wish I could reach into the screen and strangle the ones with the football helmets I hate them so much.

  17. ALSO GUYS. GUYS.

    My boyfriend passed his personal trainer exam. As he put it, “I’m not more qualified to train people than I was, but now I am certified to do so.” So now he can get jobs and make money.

    woooooo yaaaaaaay

  18. David L

     /  December 23, 2011

    What it looks like when you use the cat to help warm youtself up for your quick post-PT nap, which turns into a 3-hour lie in because you can’t bear to disturb the wee critter.

    • Byrk

       /  December 23, 2011

      The general rule in our house is that who ever has a cat sleeping on them is exempt from moving and the other person must go get them things/answer the door etc. They are just so cute when sleeping.

  19. David L

     /  December 23, 2011

    Helen Mirren wants to be The Doctor. I want to see it if she gets her chance.

    http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2011/12/23/helen-mirren-as-doctor-wh_n_1167719.html

    • wearyvoter

       /  December 23, 2011

      While I have a certain fondness for Matt Smith, I would love to see Helen Mirren take on the part. If they can’t see fit to make her a Doctor, she’d make a good Master as well.

  20. dmf

     /  December 23, 2011

    • Sorn

       /  December 23, 2011

      Thanks for this D. Have a good weekend/holiday season or whatever it is you do this time of year.

      • dmf

         /  December 23, 2011

        hey there sorn, i just follow my wife’s lead on these matters, hope things are working out on yer end of the big picture and that you and yours have a good holiday as well. if nothing else the days are getting longer now, and i at least always enjoy more light and colors.

  21. socioprof

     /  December 23, 2011

    Thank you for sharing your Blessings for the Season. It is so lovely, as are you. Thank you for providing a home away from horde for us.

    Happy, Merry to you, the boy, the girl, and the husband.

    • And to you and all your many men, big and small!

      (We just got back from the annual Whittier Sing. A cacophony of song produced by elementary school children already vibrating with the knowledge that they’re about to bust out of school for two solid weeks and an onslaught of presents. Tradition!)

      • socioprof

         /  December 23, 2011

        Ahh, sounds a lot like the one we went to at Lincoln this morning. The funniest moment was when the principal looked into the audience and noted the number of Brooks students in the audience, at which point, she welcomed them back. Kiddo#1 got to play the vibraphones today, which was so cool, and they (the third graders) decided that they wanted to sing their take on K’Naan’s “Wavin’ Flag”. That song already moves me and to hear 75 or so 8 and 9 year olds singing lyrics about peace and justice they wrote made me having to bite the hell out of my cheek to keep from crying.

        • Aw, that’s awesome! I’m coming to yours next year. I can do ours by heart now. Including the jokey teachers’ song.

        • Why hold back?

          In the moment is the moment, and then it is gone. Be in the moment.

          Of course, I know nothing of your moment & am thus impertinent. Still – I think crying’s OK when it’s something to cry about, and joy and sadness are both crying things. I can think of nothing more worthy of tears than to hear the hope and belief of children. It moved me, and I know nothing of your story or your environment – I only know what you told us about your children’s experience.

          Well, all the best of the season. Enjoy your children. They sound absolutely wonderful.

  22. CitizenE

     /  December 23, 2011

    Wrote a seasonal song a long time ago, that was even performed and recorded, but can only remember the 1st verse–

    but here goes–

    Light the lamps,
    Tis the season,
    There’s no rhyme,
    And there’s no reason
    For the faith that we live by
    Through the trials of our times

    (for our esteemed hostess, ahem)

    • Oh, thank you sweetie! xo

      Do you have any kind of way to provide linkage to a recording of it?

      (But why on earth did I have to fish this out of the spam folder? WordPress, I am shaking my head at you).

      • dmf

         /  December 23, 2011

        i have been trying to convince citE to put up a blog and share his various creative endeavors with the world as he has time and is inspired, doesn’t have to be a regular affair and seems a waste not to let people enjoy them.

        • CitizenE

           /  December 24, 2011

          Will not happen D. I’m too lazy. Blogging is the sport of Spring Chickens, such as our illustrious hostess, who can’t write for a day and a half and considers it a Writer’s Block. ~{8-)> (To remind: The Dizzy Gillespe emoticon).

          • (Phew, thank you for the reminder, I had already started to go a little crossed eyed looking at it sideways).

            (Plus: What dmf said. Even though you’re old n’ stuff).

            (xo!)

    • CitizenE

       /  December 23, 2011

      I do not have such a link, and the recording done sometime in the late 70s is somewhere in the dustbin of history. I do remember one line however, something to the gist that there were no guarantees out there, and that “things might just run amok”–guess you’re not the only prophet, tho I must say I saw very little profit in it.

  23. CitizenE

     /  December 23, 2011

  24. caoil

     /  December 23, 2011

    So…my copy of Python-opoly came in the mail this week. If anyone wants to come over and play it on Christmas as an escape/de-stresser, I am good with that.

  25. wearyvoter

     /  December 23, 2011

    On the road tomorrow morning at 9-ish, so I will be leaving the intertubes soon.
    Emily, many thanks for keeping the student lounge open and available. At some point this weekend, I may need to at least come over and lurk. Fellow Hordelings: Thank you for the fellowship. I mostly come out of hiding on the open threads, because by the time I’m away from work, it’s too late to dive in on the heavy duty discussion threads. (That, and most times, I’m better off sitting back and “listening.”)

  26. Sorn

     /  December 23, 2011

    Just wanted to say happy chrismahannaquanzica to everyone. My folks are coming up this weekend on Sunday for Monday, so if you can say a prayer or keep me in your thoughts this weekend I would greatly appreciate it.

    I hope everything goes well for everyone, and since It’s the friday before a holiday I thought I’d leave you guys with, what has been in my mind, a little doubting agnostic Christmas poem:

    The Magi

    Yeats

    Now as at all times I can see in the mind’s eye,
    In their stiff, painted clothes, the pale unsatisfied ones
    Appear and disappear in the blue depth of the sky
    With all their ancient faces like rain-beaten stones,
    And all their helms of silver hovering side by side,
    And all their eyes still fixed, hoping to find once more,
    Being by Calvary’s turbulence unsatisfied,
    The uncontrollable mystery on the bestial floor.

    • CitizenE

       /  December 23, 2011

      Ah I understand when Diogenes met you, he actually said aloud, “thank God all that looking for uncontrollable mysteries, not to mention honest men is finished and done with.” Health, prosperity, women in 2012 my friend, and wisdom, too, but not so much you’re stuck marinating in it.

      • Sorn

         /  December 23, 2011

        Thanks E,

        The same things to you as well, my friend. You’ll have to tell us how your first holiday season in retirement goes. Here’s hoping the family keeps you in mind and hasn’t put you completely out to pasture.

        As a side note a little wisdom is a dangerous thing.

        • corkingiron

           /  December 23, 2011

          Whew! For a minute there you guys had me worried.

    • Thanks. Really like this one.

  27. I’m too late to wish Emily Sabbath Greetings of the season. But when you’re back, Emily, Horde, wishing you joy. Wishing peace. Wishing prosperity. But most of all, wishing love for each and every one.

    zic

  28. Sorn

     /  December 23, 2011

    In other news, and I hate to ask for advice here, but since it’s smaller I always seem to feel more at home at em’s place, I’m working on my C.V. for the M.A. application and I’m hoping that a few of the hordians might offer some advice.

    • dmf

       /  December 23, 2011

      no worries about asking for advice we all could use a hand or two in life, just stick to the highlights and keep it focused/short, certainly any specialized/unique work experience like yer military stuff and anything related to research/schoolin is good if you have it to add.
      not cv related but somewhere in the process let them know that you know their dept and have good/specific reasons for choosing to study with the faculty, never underestimate the power of personal connections esp. in higher-ed.

    • What sort of advice are you looking for? Where do you feel like you don’t know what to do or how to say something?

    • MightBeLying

       /  December 25, 2011

      Bit late to reply but I am happy to take a look at your CV and be of help any way I can … if you’re on twitter DM me (mightbelying) and I’ll send you my email address, if not I’ll throw it up here.

      • Sorn

         /  December 27, 2011

        Wanted to say thanks for this. I’m not on twitter, apologies for this and for the late reply with the holidays and all, but since my flash-drive disappeared I’m going to have to start over from scratch until it pops up again, so it will take a while longer than I expected.

  29. Guys, I’ve missed you very much. Work has been terrific. I’ve never been happier at a job than I am now, and I think having a rough job and not having one at all helped with that. But I enjoy it very much. I work for a state university just processing donations. Not a caller, just a processor, so I just enter them into the system when they’re made. It makes me pretty happy. People are wonderful.

    Anyways, I can’t offer much for Christmas, but what I can offer is this. If anyone would like a song here, about absolutely anything, let me know, and I will write it and record it and make a video of it, and send you the song and the video. [bolded by editor] Also, I’ve incidentally recorded like thirty or so songs in the past few months, the last twelve today. If you’d like me to send you a cd or just to e-mail you the mp3’s, let me know and I will.

    I live on the West Coast so I get in too late to talk about Ron Paul being a racist, but I think “There Are No Racists Here” is always a good song for that occasion. The only thing I will add is that it’s not incidental. I’ve said this before, but we really do want a racist to be comical. We think of it as this creature that hates perpetually, and that’s not what it is. Ron Paul may not be a racist, but he did put out a racist newsletter under his name, and god knows his views appeal to Stormfront (again, doesn’t make you a racist) and their race war, every man for himself fantasies. He let this go on for a long while without much measure of accountability. That he’s a nice man doesn’t make him not a racist, or not enabling vindictive, closed off racism.

    I spent part of 2008 laughing at how comically white Ron Paul’s gatherings were. It’s not a coincidence. Most of his views agree with what government was before the 1930’s, so why wouldn’t that make people happy who have no understanding of what that time was? My personal belief on Ron Paul is this: he’s a reasonable human being with some smart views, but he’s not as consistent as his proponents like to believe and he does have a philosophy which is absent of history and therefore much to the enjoyment of those who would like to perpetuate a race ware along with individuals who simply believe in individual freedoms. In summary, you don’t have to be a racist to like Ron Paul. You don’t have to be white to think he has good ideas or he’s a decent man. Ron Paul, in his heart of hearts, I don’t think is a racist today. In the 1990’s, however, he was either opportunistic or obviously in a circle which believed profoundly in hatred. And it’s not new. Read a weekly standard from around the LA Riots and you’ll understand the circle I mean.

    So, that’s Ron Paul. Everything else:

    If Republicans are crazy enough to select any of the candidates currently running for office, they deserve to be just miserably defeated in the elections. Despite what Sully says, the only person who is reasonable is the one who has no public soul, and that’s Mitt Romney. Ron Paul might be a decent president actually, but not based on his policies. More based on his understanding of himself as a transitional president as opposed to an absolute transformer. That said, if his policies were ever fully executed, no thank you.

    Now, I will read this thread and try to respond to as many of you as possible. I will be in Chicago and New York over the next week.

    -HappySurge

    • caoil

       /  December 24, 2011

      Good to see you here again! I’m afraid I don’t have any clever ideas for songs you could write, but I would be glad to receive some of your mp3s. Gmail is probably best to talk through, and on that I’m tindomiel.

    • HEY!! So glad to hear about the job! BTW: A few weeks ago, TNC sent out a tweet asking for a link to “The Civil War Wasn’t About Slavery” – don’t know why, I like to imagine he played it for his dad.

      And: A SONG ABOUT ANYTHING?! I’ll have to think about that…! And I would *love* have you send me the MP3s. Please and thank you! elhauser [at] hotmail [dot] com

      I won’t be home all of next week, but I will be on W-Th-F. If you’re in Chicago and want to get coffee, give a holler and we’ll do coffee!

    • PS I’m going into your comment to bold your offer to make SURE people see it.

    • You could – ahem – set the poem I wrote about Emily to music. That might be a nice Seasonal Greeting type of gift.

      I’m just hinting.

      • Oh, and the gift would be for Emily. Not me. I have my own musical gift – my kids are
        releasing their first CD on bandcamp tonight at midnight.

      • Oh, that would be so AWESOME! I would love that, if you don’t mind working with another person’s words.

    • I’ve been deputized by anibundel, who can’t figure out yet how to reply within a thread from her iPad, to say that she would very much like you to write a song about the 2012 elections.

      Please and thank you! (I feel certain she would want me to say that, too).

    • MightBeLying

       /  December 25, 2011

      So glad to hear things are going well! And I love the offer … I have no brilliant ideas, but hope you’ll keep posting ’em on YouTube because I love the ones you’ve offered up so far!

  30. helensprogeny

     /  December 24, 2011

    It has been a rough few weeks here in the World of Progeny and my holiday spirit has been so soggy as to be almost non-existent this year. So, great was my relief this morning when I awoke and emerged into the day with a smile in my heart and the ability to genuinely say: I wish all of you a very happy celebration of whichever mid-winter festival you mark. I’m so grateful for the Horde, for all of the discussions ’round TNC’s table and for all I learn there. And also too, so much gratitude for Emily and the joy and life she brings to these threads and for her generosity in opening up her couch here in the student lounge and her willingness to abide us and host us here. Peace and joy to you all and a New Year filled with life and growth and productivity. And a huge thank you to each and every one of you for all you give to me every single day just by showing up here and being who you are. I am a very lucky person indeed.

    Off to make pies and to have myself a merry little Christmas! **confetti**

  31. David L

     /  December 24, 2011

    Thank whatever god(s)/goddess(es) there may be for online gift cards. The guilt of not having done any shopping finally caught up to me.

  32. Just got my most recent Amazon bargain books email; clicked through to see what’s on sale. The irony of Coates, “The Beautiful Struggle” and Paul’s “End the Fed” on the same page and deeply discounted overwhelms.

    TNC’s first book’s on sale at Amazon, folks.

    http://www.amazon.com/Bargain-Books/b/ref=pe_133440_22136390_sv_b_6?ie=UTF8&node=45

    Now ‘xcuse me while a go weep over the pies and ciabatta for tomorrow’s feasting.

    • I bought his book as my Christmas present to me. It sits right beside me, waiting for tomorrow morning.

      Pies *and* ciabatta? You’re adventurous.

  33. Can’t figure out how to reply within threads via iPad., but here is the promised picture of hats, and hats on twins:

    Bunny hats, complete. instagr.am/p/bLdto/

    Hats on both twins. pic.twitter.com/68FzryQf

  34. wearyvoter

     /  December 25, 2011

    Safely in the friendly confines of Michigan. Zoomed right through Chicago area, and avoided the dreaded sometimes a parking lot-ness of the Grant Street overpass on the way up. No snow. In fact, the grass is green where I am right now. This time last year, there was snow as far as the eye could see. (For purposes of driving, this year’s circumstances are better.) Merry Christmas!

  35. Stealing a moment away from the 2/3 of my family that’s gathered in Midlothian to wish all here that you get your wishes for the holidays and for 2012.

    Bittersweet this year for me; lots of missing my dad, lots of being sad about the lack of meaningful work, lots of laughing with mom and sis and the joy of finally getting to spend some time with my sister’s love, who turns out to be as amazing as I always suspected she is.

  36. Hola!
    Spent Christmas with my brother’s family and in-laws, taking the kids to Busch Gardens Tampa. The older boys wanted to try every roller coaster in the park, and did the tidal wave ride three times in a row (it was a small line that early in the day). Got to see cheetahs and lions and elephants and impalas. Found out I can’t fit in any of the rides anymore: diet is now a must-do.
    Hope the rest of Horde enjoyed their day!

  37. dmf

     /  December 26, 2011