Good stuff: Whirlpool Corporation’s “It Gets Better” video.

I don’t know what gives me greater chills or makes me weepier — the stories being told here, or the fact that a corporation as big as Whirlpool created this video.

From the press release accompanying the video:

For 100 years, Whirlpool Corporation has focused on improving lives one home and one family at a time. The It Gets Better campaign supports that focus by addressing a problem that damages or destroys home and family life. Together, Whirlpool Corporation and the It Gets Better campaign strive to create an environment in which every person, everywhere, can support equality and contribute to the future and success of today’s youth.

“… a problem that damages or destroys home and family life.” Wow. That is just the damn truth, and I’m a little horrified by how revolutionary it still sounds. I very much wish I had need of a large appliance right now, so that I could thank them with my dollars. I suspect this video will influence my purchasing in years to come.

h/t  The New Civil Rights Movement and the site’s editor, David Badash.

Crossposted at Angry Black Lady Chronicles.

4 Comments

  1. helensprogeny

     /  October 12, 2011

    Just lovely and so powerful. Interestingly, it’s a message for people in general, I think, even though it’s aimed specifically at the gay community. Or maybe it’s just me. But I am getting so much from the It Gets Better campaign, gathering courage to show the world my very own authentic self – even though the parts of me that have been hidden away don’t have anything to do with my sexual identity. So many of us hide our lights, I think.

    Thanks, as always, Emily for a good read.

  2. Redshift42

     /  October 12, 2011

    Wow, that’s really powerful. In addition to the direct messages, I like the fact that its existence implicitly says that despite the fact that wingnuts and social conservatives get so much press in the political arena, it’s better for business to be accepting of everyone than to worry about boycotts from bigots. Bravo.

  3. Thanks for posting this. It’s good to see this stuff happening.

  4. Lise

     /  October 12, 2011

    Wonderful. Thank you for putting it up.