Good stuff: The singer-songwriter wrote a song for me!

On Saturday night I posted the now-timeless ditty “No the Civil War Really Was About Slavery,” penned, sung and recorded on Friday by fellow Ta-Nehisi Coates commenter HappySurge (aka Sergi Avteniev), and I urged you to go to listen to the rest of his work on Youtube.

Much excitement abounded about the song in yesterday’s Open Thread, so he wrote another, this one in response to the Rick Perry/Herman Cain/Niggerhead brou-ha-ha, called appropriately enough There Are No Racists Here.

Much excitement abounded about that, so he wrote another one — this one a thank you to me! O_O It’s about the death penalty! (You know you’re loved when your friends write songs about capital punishment with you in mind). And it’s really, really, really good. Really.

So, without further ado, I present to you There Are No Racists Here (favorite verse: “Now, if you want to know some racists, Hitler was a racist/ Because a racist is someone who is racist all the time/ Like Henry Louis Gates who wakes up at Harvard teaching hate/ But there are no racists here”) followed by the chill-inducing Two Hundred and Thirty-Four Graves (“everybody said/ You better kill that kid/ He ain’t no good, but he’ll be damn good dead”). Lyrics after the jump.

There Are No Racists Here

Like a white teenager singing the blues
I know you think you understand, but you’re simply confused
You must’ve listened wrong when you heard it on the news
Because there are no racists here.

I hunt at Niggerhead mountain, cause that’s the mountain’s name
I call the President a Kenyan cause that’s where he was raised
Taught in a madrassa how to hide his hate
Because there are no racists here.

And when I’m on a jury and the defendant is black
I don’t think he’s guilty except when I hear the facts
And if you think that’s racist, well, my best friend’s hooked on crack
Because there are no racists here.

Now, if you want to know some racists, Hitler was a racist
Because a racist is someone who is racist all the time
Like Henry Louis Gates who wakes up at Harvard teaching hate
But there are no racists here.

Now, if you listen to Beck or Limbaugh, they’ll tell you the truth
Racism is policy only the President pursues,
Giving out those foodstamps, giving white people the boot
But there are no racists here.

So if you see me at the Tea Party, or the rally for Ron Paul
With all the folks from Stormfront, well, I don’t know them well at all
But they tell me they’re not racist, just white nationals,
Because there are no racists here.

Besides, where I’m from, no blacks marched for civil rights
The whole town called them “nigger,” they just went on with their lives
Do you think they lived in fear or were they simply satisified?
Because there are no racists here.

Besides, white people ain’t racist, ain’t you seen Blind Side or the Help?
White people save black people who can’t save themselves
And if saying that is racist, well, you can go to hell
Because there are no racists here.

Two Hundred and Thirty-Four Graves

They broke into the house
Cause it was next door to the house
The house they actually had a warrant on.

I was fearing for my life
So I grabbed myself a knife
And I cut that man down onto the floor.

They said you better kill that kid
For the awful thing he did
He ain’t no good, but he’ll be damn good dead.

Now, my no good lawyer
Wet behind the ears
Spent the whole damn trial breaking down in tears.

He tells me I should plea
And then someday I’ll go free
Maybe after forty goddamn years.

But the prosecutor said
You oughtta kill that kid
He ain’t no good, but he’ll be damn good dead.

I wrote my congressman
He said it really is a shame
If anyone ought to kill you, it ought be the state.

I wrote the President,
He said it really is a shame
I’d love to help you, but my numbers are already down the train.

Everybody said
You better kill that kid
He ain’t no good, but he’ll be damn good dead.

I called my mother
When she heard the news
She started crying those death penalty blues.

Put my father on the phone
I told him ‘dad, I have to go’
He said ‘I love you and I wish you could come home.’

Crossposted at Angry Black Lady Chronicles.

Comments are closed.