In The Atlantic again: Troy Davis and the reality of doubt.

I am proud to say that I have placed another essay about Troy Davis in TheAtlantic.com, where it will hopefully reach more eyes and do more good. I’m beside myself, and all I can do is write. “All I have is a voice/To undo the folded lie… No one exists alone;/Hunger allows no choice/To the citizen or the police;/We must love one another or die.”

Again, here’s the top – please click through to read the rest, and give The Atlantic the love it really, really deserves.

“Whether the trial witnesses against [Troy Davis] were lying then or are lying now, by fighting against his requested relief Georgia is saying that its interest in the finality of its capital judgments is more important than the accuracy of its capital verdicts.”

Andrew Cohen, who has served as chief legal analyst and legal editor for CBS News, wrote those words regarding death row inmate Troy Davis on TheAtlantic.com yesterday. They come near the end of a vitally important essay in which Cohen spells out “how far we have to go toward fair and accurate capital punishment in America.” I read them over and over, because as a person who has been advocating for Davis’s clemency bid, they struck me as frighteningly true.

2 Comments

  1. I am so sorry.

  2. dmf

     /  September 20, 2011

    may there be abundant peace and life upon us all