UPDATE: Calling legal professionals and clergy for Troy Davis.

Yesterday I wrote about Troy Davis and the fact that he has been sentenced to death for a murder that he almost certainly did not commit. Despite copious evidence pointing to Mr. Davis’s innocence, the state of Georgia will likely give him an execution date in September.

In that post, I asked that you watch a video and sign the Amnesty petition, but Jen Marlowe pointed out that if you are a legal professional or member of the clergy, you can take an extra, crucial step: Joining a sign-on letter to demonstrate that those most familiar with the law, and those most intimately attuned to this nation’s spiritual and ethical standards, support Mr. Davis in his request for clemency. Legal professionals can sign the appropriate letter by clicking here; members of the clergy can add their names by clicking here.

This cannot be stated baldly enough: Troy Davis may soon be put to death for a crime he almost certainly did not commit.

Please ask someone you know to join you in taking a stand.

10 Comments

  1. scone

     /  August 30, 2011

    Thanks for including this update – I didn’t want to sign until I got on my home computer, and I’m glad I waited so I could sign the proper letter.

  2. Maybe someone can help me out. I hate to sound stupid, but what is the difference between the prefix and title? Looking at the list, I see the names of people I know and those who are acquaintances. Some say “The Rev.” before them, some do not. I’m not a reverend, but I do qualify to sign the clergy/religious leader letter/petition, so.. help this confused soul out if you can.🙂

    • As I look at the form, I think you would just use whatever title you have in the “prefix” section. Do that and I think you’re good to go!

      And thank you so much for doing this!

      • Not accepting my information without a title. I have no title. :/ Maybe scone will check comments and enlighten me.

        • I think the problem is that they need to be sure that you’re a member of the clergy. Off the top of my head, I would say call Amnesty in Georgia — here’s their number (off the website): (404) 876-5661. That’s what I would do in this case. Thank you so much for sticking with this and trying to get your name on the letter!

        • scone

           /  September 3, 2011

          Much belated, but sorry I didn’t check the comments until now! Also, sadly, I couldn’t have helped, since I’m a lawyer, not a member of the clergy, and didn’t have any “title” related issues. Hope you were able to figure it out!

  3. Emily, went to the NYT editorial, about the racial bias in the death penalty in the military; and calling for abolition of the death penalty. First time I’ve ever clicked on a banner ad — Amnesty International’s ad calling on folks to tell Georgia not to execute Troy.

    You fight the good fight.

    Thank you.