Israel, Palestine, Obama, Netanyahu, & me – on Russian TV.

Hey there! I was on the tee-vee! In Russia!

The cameraman told me I “look great on camera” (I’m not so sure — in that first moment, I look rather like a moron, and who knew that I do that weird “did she have a stroke?” thing with my mouth when I’m listening to someone? The more you know!) and added (entirely unprompted!) that I sounded “articulate and intelligent,” and then I spoke with the Russia Today producer in DC who was over the moon, and told me it was “brilliant,” adding “your analysis was great and so interesting”…! She’s talking about having me on again (which I think means I have to give myself notes on how to settle my face when listening). (And lipstick. I may have to wear lipstick. Where are my lips here?)

I can’t yet figure out how to embed the clip into the blog, so for the time-being, here’s a link to the story on Russia Today — I’m quoted in the article and my clip is the third one down — it’s just shy of five and a half minutes long. Hopefully I’ll be back with the clip itself a little later!

/snoopy dance!

UPDATE:

Minor success on the embed front. I can’t get the whole thing to embed in my free WordPress platform, but I found an edited minute of it on YouTube (they start referring to “political writer and blogger Emily Hauser” at the 46 second mark). To watch the whole thing (complete with the oddly blunt-instrument questions of the British anchor who originally interviewed me), click on the link above.

16 Comments

  1. Yay for surviving the day. Glad the producer thinks you’re good for a re-invite.

  2. Joaquin Murrieta

     /  May 24, 2011

    I MUST SEE IT WILL NOT REST UNTIL I SEE IT POST LINK!!!!

    • There’s a link right there – in the sentence with the words “there’s a link”! : ) But I’ll work on embedding the video now. (No promises, though…! I’m not very bright at these things).

  3. Em, you are EXCELLENT on air. Super cool and collected. No lipstick necessary.

  4. Ben

     /  May 24, 2011

    I know this won’t be popular with the crowd here, but forget which side is which, lets pretend were taking about some other dispute. Since when is not agreeing to the terms of the other side mean that one is not committed to resolving the dispute? again forget what side you are on, does this make any sense that you would say this? I don’t know if you routinely reply to the comments on your blog but I would be most happy to hear from you.

  5. Yay for you!!!

  6. Great analysis, Emily. It’s true that Obama has briefly given Netanyahu some momentum with Republicans and elements of the Democratic Party, but I suspect that in the medium term it will hurt him much more with foreign countries and his own electorate. Of course, everything we know about Bibi indicates that he is exclusively a short-term thinker, so it’s entirely possible he doesn’t care.

  7. dmf

     /  May 24, 2011

    very good, maybe your local pbs can find some place for you do this kind of thing more often

  8. theotherjimmyolson

     /  May 24, 2011

    TKOgrumpy from balloon juice here.Just finished watching your video. excellent job! Pitch perfect from my point of view.

  9. Mom

     /  May 24, 2011

    YOU ARE SOMETHING ELSE !!!

  10. WoooHooo! Diane Sawyer has nothing on you! Way to go!

  11. Paul in KY

     /  May 25, 2011

    Pretty cool, Emily. You sounded very knowledgable. Looked fine. Lipstick not necessary. Congrats on getting on TV, you now will live on thru the ages…

    • sorry it actually didn’t sent properly.

      • Thanks so much for this! Sadly I just DM’ed you on Twitter to say that I experienced tech-fail when I tried to insert it (having copied the long code via your bit.ly shortened version). Any suggestions…? I really should not be responsible for the upkeep on my own blog.

  12. ajw93

     /  May 25, 2011

    FABULOUS job, Emily! well done, you. i hope for lots more of your perspective to get out there.