Segregated buses – they’re all the rage!

I was on HuffPost Live yesterday, talking with hosts Mike Sacks and Ahmed Shihab-Eldin and Palestinian nonviolent activist Fadi Quran about Israel’s decision to introduce segregated bus lines on the West Bank.

The lines are technically optional (though I pity the Palestinian who chooses to eschew them) and apparently welcomed by the laborers who generally have to struggle to get to work — and they’re really only for that small percentage of West Bank Palestinians who are lucky enough to have gotten work permits inside Israel in the first place. We also talked about a lot of the other manifestations of the occupation and if you ask me, if you’re looking for a quick mood enhancer, this probably isn’t it.

But yesterday was also a day off from school and it turned out I was coming down with a fever (pretty much no other symptoms – just the fever and related dull-headed achyness), so I never managed to post it (or anything else).

I will confess that I haven’t even watched it yet, because I’m a little worried I wasn’t making much sense. But if you would like to take that risk, click here. If you’re my mom: I start talking just after the 3 minute mark, I think.

Comments are closed.
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 4,940 other followers