Why I’ll never be fancy.

fancy pantsI will never be fancy. I can fake it, if needs be, but I assure you dear reader: It’s all a ruse.

First of all, there’s the walking.

I fall off my heels. I fall off my heels when I’m barefoot. I trip over curbs, and over the seams between sidewalk sections. Once, when wearing my fanciest dress and my fanciest heels, I took a step off a stage — and slid down the rest of the stairs, in front of God and everybody. The ability to locomote with some degree of confidence is, if I’m not mistaken, a key element of being fancy.

Then there’s the food and drink portion of any event dedicated to fanciness. For starters, I don’t drink. I mean, I do hydrate and all, but I don’t drink alcohol, so the whole “fine wine and/or champagne” thing is lost on me. To make matters worse, when it comes to wine, “I don’t drink” is really just my excuse for not drinking, because I actually hate wine (and/or champagne). It tastes awful — what are you people thinking?

And fancy food generally means fancy meat, and while I do eat meat, I don’t get it. I would almost always prefer a nice bowl of oatmeal, frankly. I will admit that I recently discovered the joys of a well-prepared pan-seared rib eye (and yes, it is in fact possible to keep kosher and still get a good steak) but probably my favorite meat dish is meatloaf. And I think we can all agree that meatloaf is not fancy.

Furthermore, at any given moment, at least one part of my body looks (or in fact is) banged up. I hurt myself in the most mind-boggling ways — the scab I’m currently sporting on my right index finger, for instance, is the result of (and I am really and truly not making this up) being cut by a loaf of bread. A loaf. Of bread.

Now, of course, it was a very crusty loaf of bread. And it was just out of the freezer, and some bits of crust were kind of breaking off and were rather sharp because they were frozen. But still and all. It takes real skill to be injured by a loaf of bread that was not, I don’t know, shot out of a t-shirt cannon at one’s head. (Unless one is Jean Valjean, in which case it was really poverty and a repressive system of government that did the injuring).

I can’t even get a really good manicure, because (follow-up to the above!) I once slammed my left hand in a car door and 30 years later, one of the nails still doesn’t grow properly. I’ve been told that the fact that said nail always splits when it gets past about a millimeter long (actual measurement, BTW) indicates that I must have “damaged the nail seed.” Which, of course. Of course I would “damage the nail seed.”

I do clean up pretty well. Give me a nice dress, a flat-iron, and my makeup basket, and I’ll look ok at your fancy do. And I tend to smile a lot, which I have found can cover a lot of bases.

Plus, it eases everyone’s mind considerably if you’re smiling as they help you up off the floor.

Previous Post

14 Comments

  1. Captain Button

     /  January 17, 2013

    Three, against a thousand!

    • You have seen every movie on earth, haven’t you?

      • Captain Button

         /  January 17, 2013

        No, but far too many. Especially in 1984-1985 when I was in a new city with no friends. Good year for teeners and martial arts movies. But don’t ask about “Nine Deaths Of The Ninja”.

  2. efgoldman

     /  January 17, 2013

    Please come to New England, so we can adopt you.

  3. efgoldman

     /  January 17, 2013

    To make matters worse, when it comes to wine, “I don’t drink” is really just my excuse for not drinking, because I actually hate wine (and/or champagne). It tastes awful — what are you people thinking?
    You think its a Jewish thing? Because I’m the same way. And, no, i don’t count Mogen David as wine, either.

  4. Captain Button

     /  January 17, 2013

    Dojikko (ドジっ子) is Japanese for clumsy with the feminine suffix “-ko” added on the end. In other words: “clumsy girl”. It has also become a major “element of Moe” in anime and manga, and Anime Fanspeak for Cute Clumsy Girl. The attraction is not limited to Japan, the concept of a Cute Clumsy Girl has worldwide appeal, mainly because her clumsiness makes her more approachable.

    http://tvtropes.org/pmwiki/pmwiki.php/Main/Dojikko

  5. Darth Thulhu

     /  January 17, 2013

    Well, at least you’ll always have Fancy Ketchup.

    • I don’t like ketchup, either.

      • Darth Thulhu

         /  January 19, 2013

        You don’t have to *eat* Fancy Ketchup. Quite gauche! Just drape the packets and bottles around, all decadent-like, as one does. Your Fancy-ness will have no limits!

  6. Ren

     /  January 17, 2013

    You are not alone :)
    Thanks for the giggle.

  7. See, I don’t like heels because I always worry about being able to make a quick getaway.

    Which, I guess, fancy people don’t worry about.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 5,028 other followers