Moving day for the open threads.

thread 2Over the past couple of years, I’ve run occasional open threads on days that The Atlantic’s Ta-Nehisi Coates was unavailable to open one at his place; in recent months, this has become more and more frequent, and over the last several weeks, it’s been pretty much every day. I have the sneaking suspicion that Ta-Nehisi has seen that his commenters are taking care of themselves, and so has allowed himself to let the daily (or frequent) open thread simply drop from his lineup. Whenever I’ve been unavailable, anibundel has caught us and given us shelter.

At the same time however, (most of) the Horde has found its own solution to the lack of regular TNC open threads by successfully gathering on Facebook, where they now spend most of their hanging-out-with-Horde-friends time.

Of course, a handful of us are not on FB, so I’ve kept the open threads going for them/us (I do have a faux FB identity so that I can see at people’s photos or read FB activist manifestos or what-have-you, but I’m not really “on” Facebook and have no desire to be). HOWEVER: anibundel is on Facebook, and very happily so!

And thus, ani and I have reached a decision: The open threads will move to her place, starting today.

I see a real value in keeping OTs running for those who still want them (like me!), but it simply makes more sense to have them in the hands of someone who is actually in daily contact with the rest of the Horde.

So ani and I will switch roles: She will host open threads when none are forthcoming at TNC’s place, and when/if she’s unavailable, I will catch us and give us shelter.

And of course, I’ll see you there!

xoxo,
ellaesther

PS In case it’s not clear: CLICK HERE to go to today’s open thread at anibundel’s.

2 Comments

  1. doginajacket

     /  January 2, 2013

    Thanks for all the good times!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 4,932 other followers