On the liking of things.

A thing I like precisely and exactly as much as I should.

A thing I like precisely and exactly as much as I should.

I weary of posting little but Israel/Palestine posts and open threads! But I have little in mind to write. And thus, I fall back on my old friend Cit E’s suggestion of a grocery list.

And so, I give to you:

Things I Wish I Liked More Than I Do

  • The Hobbit (the movie, not the book).
  • The Lord of the Rings (the books, not the movies).
  • Jimi Hendrix
  • goat cheese
  • taking showers
  • sleeping (which is ironic, because for some time now it’s been something of a struggle to actually get a good night’s sleep, and now I finally mostly am, but I am still unhappy about how much ding-dang time it takes).

Things I Like Just The Right Amount

  • U2
  • libraries
  • my husband
  • my children
  • sitting in a room filled with lit candles and reading my book of a winter’s eve
  • the movie Bend it Like Beckham
  • The Hobbit (book)
  • The Lord of the Rings (movies)
  • oatmeal

Things I Like A Little More Than Is Probably Seemly

  • ZZ Top
  • Tom Hiddleston
  • hardware stores
  • clicking on random links preceded by little but the acronym “WTF”
  • the song “I Hope You Dance”
  • High School Musical

We are all only as God made us.

Leave a comment

16 Comments

  1. I really enjoyed your list ;)

    Reply
  2. U 2? Leave God out of this! ;-)

    Reply
  3. dave in texas

     /  December 28, 2012

    It’s probably just as well that you mention oatmeal here, rather than someplace else, where, no matter what you say, offense will be taken.

    Also, too, ZZ Top continues to put on a kickass live show. Or at least they did when I last saw them a few years back.

    Reply
    • I have their latest album, ‘La Futura’, on my Amazon Cloud Player, and they are still cranking out hard and heavy tunes. I haven’t seen them live since the late 80′s but I’d love to see them again.

      Reply
  4. Move Libraries to the list that says “I LOVE FOREVER AND UNCONDITIONALLY” and I will understand. :)

    Reply
  5. Captain Button

     /  December 28, 2012

    Things I Wish I Liked More Than I Do

    Don’t worry about the first four. They are all things that you chose because you like them*. If you don’t care for them, you don’t. Don’t let other people’s preferences change what you do on trivial stuff like that.

    (This is one of the things I have lot of trouble doing.)

    * Unless goat cheese is a food staple where you are.

    Reply
  6. No need to like the movie The Hobbit any more than you do. After a rabid love affair with the LOTR movies, I found it thoroughly disappointing. Be proud of your high standards!

    Reply
    • Darth Thulhu

       /  December 28, 2012

      Seconded.

      There’s a good, solid, fun seventy to ninety minutes of stuff in Hobbit: Part I … and some other stuff.

      There will probably be another solid half-hour in Part II, and maybe another good hour’s worth in Part III. Add all those fragments up into a tight edit, and I am sure the whole thing will be a rollicking 3-hour film.

      Reply
  7. This made me smile.

    Seems to me different eras of U2 could fit into the different segments of the list ;)

    Reply
  8. Being a boomer woman, I always feel a little ashamed when I have to admit I don’t care for Jimi Hendrix or most of the stuff done during that time. ZZTop – yes – always a good listen!

    Reply
  9. That Litlle Ol’ Band from Texas is a treasure. If Texas does decide to secede I hope we get to keep them, along with Willie Nelson and Asleep At The Wheel.

    My “Thing I Like More Than is Probably Seemely”: Ramen Noodles. … Hey, you started this!

    Reply
  10. CitizenE

     /  December 31, 2012

    Things I Wish I liked More:
    Christianity
    The Democratic Party
    Brussel Sprouts
    Beef Kidneys
    Rock and Roll after 1969

    Things I Like Just Right
    Buddhism
    Mario Savio
    Creamed Spinach, seasoned c’est ca
    Very Fresh, Well Chosen, Expertly Cut Sashimi
    Congolese Rumba

    Things I Like More than is probably seemly
    Women
    The Ocean, the Mountains, the Desert
    Growing, harvesting, roasting, pealing and cooking hot chiles
    Pelicans diving for fish at sunset
    A double shot of chilled Marc XO Vodka, neat
    The opening, the vocals, and just about everything about The Amazons of Guinea doing “Wamato”: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NtJtLRI4n9s

    Reply
    • a) The Democratic Party – totes with you on that.
      b) No need to like brussel sprouts in any way, shape or form.
      c) It is always seemly to like women, particularly an unseemly amount.

      Reply
    • CitizenE

       /  January 1, 2013

      A post script on Les Amazones de Guinee: not only are they one of the greatest, if not the greatest all women bands in the world, let alone Africa, having begun their careers in the 1970s, but they also began as a military dance band, all their performers at the time, officers in the Guinean army. Their lead singer, the woman who sang the opening and closing verses, M’mah Sylla, also known s La Rossignol de Guinee or The Nightengale.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,829 other followers