The season. The seasons. The many, many seasons.

I think this is meant to represent a tree as it moves through the rather more famous Four Seasons. But it kind of looks to me like the tree is moving through hell at a certain point.

I think this is meant to represent a tree as it moves through the rather more famous Four Seasons. But it kind of looks to me like the tree is moving through hell at a certain point.

As I drove past a Chicago Park District sign today, I was reminded that America has much more than “a” holiday season. It has much more than four seasons. It is, in my experience, positively awash in seasons.

The sign I saw on Lake Shore Drive declared that I could “Get Fit for Free For a Week!”, and I was reminded: Oh, that’s right! I-made-a-New-Year’s-resolution-fitness Season is nearly upon us!

IMANYRF Season is coterminous, of course, with I-need-to-organize-my-stuff Season.

Which is followed by Super Bowl/Valentines Day Season, which is then immediately followed by March Madness/St. Patrick’s Day Season.

Then, depending a little bit on when Easter falls in the Gregorian calendar of any given year, it’s Easter Season (or, as I like to think of it: Robin Eggs Season). Then, wowie, before you can even catch your breath from the unhealthy number of robin eggs you’ve consumed (ahem) – BAM! It’s End-of-the-school-year/Grads and Dads Season!

Followed by Fourth of July Season.

Back-to-School Season.

Pre-Super Bowl Season.

Halloween Season.

Thanksgiving Season starts on the same day as NaNoWriMo Season (though this may be only among a certain cohort of mine), but then NaNoWriMo runs over onto Christmas/The Holidays Season and it’s a wonder all hell hasn’t broken loose yet. I can only presume that this is because the NaNoWriMo folks are armed only with pens.

And then…. That’s right, we’re right back at I-made-a-New-Year’s-resolution-fitness Season!

I note all this for two reasons: One – I hate March Madness and really wish people would shut up about it. For a year? Maybe? I mean, yeah, yeah, Mighty, Mighty Gonzaga, whatevs. I DON’T CARE.

But reason #two is this: It’s so sweet how all of these seasons (many of which hinge largely on the fact that advertisers need something to pin product on) actually have traditions that attend to them. We human beings really do like order, and we like ritual, and we like to know from one year to the next that we can guess where we’ll be come March 12.

So while I’m not sure that I-made-a-New-Year’s-resolution-fitness Season/I-need-to-organize-my-stuff Season is the most magical time of year? I kind of get a kick out of it. Because I know it’s coming, and then? There it is.

And there’s your deep thought for today.

Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. Yikes! 8:00 pm and nobody posted an open thread.
    :::checks ani:::
    Oh, there it is.

    Reply
  2. Predictability. We human critters need it.

    Reply
  3. like hamsters in a wheel – I only enjoy the ‘season’ when I’m in a hot country

    Reply
  4. Darth Thulhu

     /  December 22, 2012

    In retail, the signage shifts and marketing campaigns associated with these seasons is close to Iron Law. We already have signage for Fitness Resolution / Storage season, and will be putting up the Post-Christmas Gift Card season stuff up promptly at close on Christmas Eve.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,830 other followers