Friday open thread.

It just occurred to me that folks might want an open thread.

I know there’s a lot of horror over the Newtown shootings. I wrote something brief (below) but if you do nothing else, please call the White House and Congress today and tell them that this country needs sane gun legislation to stop these kinds of events from happening. If we flood them with calls today, we might drown out the NRA’s money and lobbyists.

White House: 202-456-1111

US Representatives & Senators: 202-224-3121

I’ve gotten through to everyone, and was just told by the staffer of my conservative Republican Senator (Mark Kirk) that they’ve gotten “a lot of calls on this today.”

23 Comments

  1. I saw The Hobbit last night. If you’d rather read about Dwarfs and Orcs and Dragons than about the school shooting, check out my spoiler-filled post.

    • I WILL SPOIL NO SPOILERS.

      But I’ll read it later.

    • I will read it tomorrow night after I go see it.

    • Darth Thulhu

       /  December 14, 2012

      I’ll go read yours, but my feeling was: Each hour was less good than the one preceding it, and that bodes really poorly for the second film.

      The opening was grand and I liked the nested introductions. The second hour started to feel plodding and Radagast’s CGI adventure was worrisome. Then everything after Rivendell that involved CGI (which was almost all of it) was seriously problematic and overdone in the same way most of King Kong was.

      I’m glad I saw it. I don’t know that I want to see more.

      • overdone in the same way most of King Kong was

        yes, this was my fear. PJ has no sense of making something more powerful by reining it in: everything only gets bigger.

        It’s a real shame, in a sense, because he is remarkably talented. If only someone had been able to talk him down.

        I almost want a Phantom Edit of this, with 60% fewer battle sequences, among other changes.

        • Darth Thulhu

           /  December 14, 2012

          I liked the two Dwarf History battles at the beginning, because the flashbackosity of them kept them short and focused to the point. The endless warg-chasing and sled-riding and giant-punching and trap-sliding and goblin-cutting and bridge-running and chasm-jumping and ravine-plummeting and tree-dominoing and fire-striding were beyond ludicrous.

          An eventual edit that prunes almost all of that to tiny bits might be worth rewatching, but I do not believe I will be seeing the first film in the theatre again, because yikes.

          • Am attempting to avoid spoilers, but noted the word “flashbackosity” and <3 you for it.

            Will read all later!

  2. We do, but blog flogging feels a little silly.

  3. Obama is tearing up talking about the kid victims.

    That is all.

  4. lillygoren

     /  December 14, 2012

    Just called up my house member, senators, and the prez. I enjoy your blog Emily–happy hannukah and good shabbos.

  5. koolaide

     /  December 14, 2012

    The shooting news and my ensuing reactions have left me totally unable to get work done this afternoon. Which isn’t good. But there it is.

    • scone

       /  December 14, 2012

      Yeah, me either.

    • dave in texas

       /  December 14, 2012

      Yeah, just about the time I had composed myself where I thought I could get some work done, I stepped outside the office and ran into several groups of schoolchildren touring the Capitol. That killed my productivity for the rest of the day.

  6. In the UK we are hearing about the situation as it unfolds. Some stations have changed their programming to cover the story. We are very shocked by this continuing situation in America, where people are just shot in numbers by disturbed young men.

    I did what Obama said, I hugged my children tighter tonight. Everything he said tonight was just right; but it holds true for the families of Gaza and in the Yemen, Pakistan and Afghanistan – wherever his drones attack. If killing is unacceptable in our schools and shopping Malls, how can it be acceptable in these other places?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 4,883 other followers