Friday open thread – until, you know.

I was miserably ill with a stomach thing for about 36 hours, and Hanukkah starts tomorrow night, and I’m on deadline, soooo… it’s yours, and play nice like you did yesterday please, because I am not likely to be around to check in!

Standard FYI clause: I generally wait about 2 hours after Ta-Nehisi would typically open a thread (roughly noon, EST, back when such a thing was typical…!), and if none is forthcoming, I put one up here.

Leave a comment

52 Comments

  1. And having said that, you need to watch this:

    Bibi’s & Ahmadinejad’s body language at the UN. You’d think they would get along better.

    Reply
    • watson42

       /  December 7, 2012

      This made me laugh.

      Reply
      • Do think the problem is the presence of a tie and the absence of a beard? If they were able to go, I don’t know, beardless AND tie-less, or bearded AND tie-ed, it would all work out?

        Reply
        • watson42

           /  December 7, 2012

          Maybe it’s some sort of matter-anti-matter thing. Or Star Trek mirror-world thing (see: the beards) – perhaps they can’t peacefully coexist because the laws of physics won’t allow it.

          [Okay, that was supposed to be funny, but it has made me depressed. If there isn't a way to peacefully coexist, we're pretty much screwed.]

          Reply
  2. Following up on last week’s review of David Wondrich’s “Punch”, I posted a review of his first book “Imbibe!”, which covers how cocktails evolved from punch and eventually superseded it. Lots of great history, fantastic writing, and tasty drinks.

    http://cocktailchem.blogspot.com/2012/12/book-review-imbibe.html

    Reply
  3. There remains no egg nog ice cream in the local supermarkets, nor at McDonalds. However, the frozen yogurt place does have egg nog yogurt, which leads to a puzzlement: what topping(s) do you put on egg nog? (No nutmeg or cinnamon available.) I finally settled upon crushed Oreos and nothing else.

    PS the person who decided the yogurt shop should offer raspberry, caramel, pistachio and egg nog flavors all at the same time must be shot. They made my brain go ‘splody with decision-making.

    Reply
  4. I am quite pleased with all three of today’s fashion posts, as well as my letter to Mr. Tolkien. Please check them out.
    http://anibundel.wordpress.com

    Reply
  5. caoil

     /  December 7, 2012

    !
    After a frantic night of stressful back-and-forth FB messages from the herd of cats I’m trying to take to the Hobbit, we finally decided on a 10:45 show next Friday, with carpools in place for all affected. But today, the VIP lounge opened up some showings and I think we miiiiiight be getting those tickets instead! The theatre is only 99 seats, is age 19+, and you can order food and bevvies up until the time of the show! Plus it’s a 10pm so a little bit earlier for everyone to drive back home. Cross your fingers…

    Reply
    • The husband and I will be traveling (with my parents) Wednesday through Friday so we got ourselves tickets for Saturday. At one of the few local theaters that’s actually doing the 48fps projection correctly.

      Reply
      • caoil

         /  December 7, 2012

        I wish I had the energy to do a Thursday night one (10pm or midnight). Alas, I am now a middle-aged hobbit and unless I take the next day off…

        I look forward to your comments next weekend!

        Reply
      • efgoldman

         /  December 7, 2012

        On an old SD TV, the characters in the trailer I saw last night look like video game graphics.

        Reply
      • which theater? (no one will go see the hobbit with me. i am sad.)

        Reply
        • I would, but I can’t go next weekend and I can’t afford to drive to Virginia. :P

          Reply
        • scone

           /  December 7, 2012

          Yeah, I want to know, too! (And hey, nobody with go with me, either….)

          Reply
        • caoil

           /  December 7, 2012

          You come here! We’ll take you. I will even provide you with a just-in-case stash of kleenex.

          Reply
        • no-one will go with you?! but I met some of your other friends when we saw harry potter, they are nerdy, how do you know so many nerdy people who don’t want to see the hobbit?!

          I saw ROTK in theaters 7 or 10 times (in my defense, I had free passes at the time, as a film student), I suspect I can easily be talked into seeing the hobbit twice.

          I don’t remember what theater M settled on though, I’ll have to ask him.

          Reply
    • caoil

       /  December 7, 2012

      Also? Herds of cats are, quite frankly, easier to organize than people.

      Reply
      • efgoldman

         /  December 7, 2012

        After a frantic night of stressful back-and-forth FB messages from the herd of cats…
        I know the don’t need opposable thumbs to type, but really?

        Reply
        • doginajacket

           /  December 7, 2012

          If the Internet is a series of tubes filled with cats, do they really need to type?

          Reply
        • doginajacket

           /  December 7, 2012

          Wait, I think I read something backwards. Don’t mind me.

          Reply
        • caoil

           /  December 7, 2012

          They’re perfectly capable of using one of those voice-recognition systems!

          (note: I almost typed purrfectly)

          Reply
      • Damn straight. Just shake the treat bottle.

        Reply
    • watson42

       /  December 7, 2012

      Nice. I once worked at a company where it became a thing for a large group to take the afternoon off for the first matinee showing of a big movie release. We’d go to the movie, maybe grab dinner, then all go back to work (most of us were scientists, so it was back to the lab) until late and talk about the movie.

      We were all under a big deadline at one point, and had more or less decided we weren’t going to go to The Two Towers (IIRC) when three days before opening the director of the department asked why no one had sent out an email with the movie plans yet.

      Reply
      • caoil

         /  December 7, 2012

        I WISH I had a workplace like that. Sadly, there are not very many dorkalicious people here.

        Reply
        • watson42

           /  December 7, 2012

          Yeah, I miss those days and those people. We were admittedly a bunch of geeks. It also helped that there were a few movie theatres within a 15-20 minute drive. What made the Two Towers incident even funnier is that when we tried to explain to the director we felt it wasn’t responsible to take the afternoon off when we had so much going on his reply was “It’s tradition! When else would we all go see the movie? And everyone always ends up working until midnight afterwards anyway. I’ll send the email.”

          Reply
  6. watson42

     /  December 7, 2012

    So I’m trying to compose a tactful email to enquire (inquire?) about the status of a job for which I interviewed. I am much better at this when I am doing this on someone else’s behalf – much more articulate and effective. Why is that, I wonder.

    Reply
    • efgoldman

       /  December 7, 2012

      Someone I know burned through term papers for her friends, but flunked out because she could never write her own.

      Reply
  7. efgoldman

     /  December 7, 2012

    I am going to be away and offline next week. I wouldn’t mention it, except I know some people were concerned last time. We decided not to bring a laptop with us.

    Reply
  8. Why is it, when I’m getting sick, the spots on my throat where my tonsils used to be get all sore?

    Reply
    • Phantom Not-A-Limb-But-Used-To-Be-Attached.

      Reply
    • mythopoeia

       /  December 7, 2012

      My wild-ass guess is that it has something to do with tonsils being part of the immune system and that you’re experiencing something roughly similar to lymph nodes getting swollen. This may be completely false.

      Reply
  9. caoil

     /  December 7, 2012

    …before everyone completely disappears for the day (at least those who cannot be seen elsewhere), Happy Hanukkah!

    Reply
    • Hey, hey, hey! Thanks for my card!! I can’t believe I didn’t say so before now – it arrived on Wednesday, I think. So much fun to get real mail! (Reciprocation Plan in progress…).

      Reply
      • caoil

         /  December 7, 2012

        MUAH HA HA HA HA my diabolical plan is working! Yessss, that diabolical plan to…er, wish everyone an appropriate, happy December holiday.

        It’s not a very diabolical plan at all, is it.

        Reply
        • Darth Thulhu

           /  December 7, 2012

          Just to thwart you and your inhuman schemes, I have retroactively chosen a religion with no December Holy Days. BWAHAHAHAHAHA!

          Reply
  10. Your mom told you not to out with him!
    [Nature raw in tooth and claw...]

    When that failed, he “tore the bird to shreds and ate it,” Mr. Scott recalled.

    http://www.nytimes.com/2012/11/27/science/in-nature-fatal-attractions-can-be-part-of-life.html?_r=0

    Reply
  11. socioprof

     /  December 7, 2012

    I hope you are okay, hostess with the mostest.

    Happy Hanukkah!

    Reply
  12. I’m here way late due to work and tired and stuff so I’m going to wish our hostess (and everyone else who celebrates) a Happy Hanukkah and go do something about dinner.

    Reply
  13. Darth Thulhu

     /  December 7, 2012

    Happy Hanukkah! And remember: Hanukkah is the most American of Holy Days, because it is a celebration of burning oil we do not actually possess.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 4,644 other followers