And I wonder why I can’t think straight.

I just realized that this is what the month of November looked like:

First week: US elections, and all the work and emotional whipsaw that entailed.

Second week: The Israel-Gaza war, and all the work and emotional whipsaw that entailed.

Third week: Continuation of the war and then the ceasefire, and all the work and emotional whipsaw those entailed + Thanksgiving (which I love, but I did spend 24 hours cooking).

Fourth week: United Nations General Assembly vote to upgrade the status of Palestine to “nonmember observer state” + Israel’s announcement of enormous settlement construction plans, and all the work and emotional whipsaw those entailed.

Weekend of November 30/December 1: Drive to Wisconsin for one overnight birthday gathering, and then drive back straight back to another party (for which I did a portion of the cooking) the next evening.

And I wonder why I can’t think straight on December 4.

Leave a comment

9 Comments

  1. Here’s this to help you think straight.
    He thrusts his fists against the posts and still insists he sees the ghosts.
    …no, wait, that’s to help you fight off being mind-controlled by disembodied brains or eldritch spider creatures living in sewers.
    Okay, I got nuthing.

    Reply
  2. Bob Toy

     /  December 4, 2012

    “But I don’t want to go among mad people,” Alice remarked.
    “Oh, you can’t help that,” said the Cat: “we’re all mad here. I’m mad. You’re mad.”
    “How do you know I’m mad?” said Alice.
    “You must be,” said the Cat, “or you wouldn’t have come here.”

    (Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland, Chapter 6)

    Reply
  3. watson42

     /  December 4, 2012

    Can I offer you some tea and cookies? Or perhaps something stronger?

    Reply
  4. Maybe it you stop thinking for a minute, then when you start again, everything will be clearer! That never works for me, but it’s worth a shot. Usually you just pick up where you left off. That’s the problem. Plus, how can you be sure you really stopped thinking? You have to look for gaps in your memory.

    Don’t do this while driving.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 4,675 other followers