There’s a knot in my stomach, dear Liza, dear Liza.

Not a lot to say today other than that I am in a state of not-necessarily-not-high anxiety about the chaos that has been thrown into the election process by Hurricane Sandy and the voter suppression efforts across the land and what they might mean for the possibility of a second Obama term. I’ll no doubt be getting around to posting my latest from Open Zion at some point today, but honestly, I’ve been so in knots about the election and the unfolding post-storm disaster that I don’t have a lot of anxiety to spare for the thing I’m paid to anxious about. I’ve been told by people whose instincts I trust to chill the fuck out, he’s got this, but I’ll only be able to do that on Wednesday morning. Unless the whole thing’s been thrown to the Republicans running seven different states or possibly the US Senate and House (oh look, just by typing those two options out, I’ve brought back the nausea! Huzzah!).

Anyhoo. I’m nervous, is what I’m saying, and too nervous to make much sense. So this is today’s post, for now. Sorry.

8 Comments

  1. Ellen M

     /  November 5, 2012

    Emily, I appreciate your posts. I “know” we should be confident that we will still have President Obama at the helm for four more years, but I share your anxiety too. I do hope we will truly know on Wesnesday morning that he had been reelected. Thanks for being honest all the time, even when it means admitting being worried.

  2. You’re not the only one. Spent the weekend helping my wife’s friends at the NJ Shore; certainly not the worst hit areas, but still awful in the amount of wreckage and destruction, looking like it happened totally at random. That got my stomach in a knot. Then having to listen to the babble of pundits, the wave after wave of commercials, and come to grips with the nagging fear that there might just be enough people who actually like Mitt Romney to put him in the White House? I’m surprised I don’t have an ulcer…

    • Bob Jones' Neighbor

       /  November 5, 2012

      It’s not that they particularly like Mitt, it’s that damn’ OTHER in the White House!

  3. watson42

     /  November 5, 2012

    OMG, I am glad I am not the only one. I am *freaking*. I think in part because unless one side wins by a landslide, we’re going to see this devolve into lawsuits and Bush v. Gore all over again. I *can’t* handle that. (Did you ever read the Supreme Court decision for Bush v. Gore? Just the tone of it was enough to make me want to break things.) But also because there is a chunk of the country who wants to put in power people who think I, and people like me, deserve to exist as full human beings because I am a woman, because I am brown, because I’m not Christian.

    My sister sent me some photos from Queens. Her local supermarket is literally bare – there is *nothing* on the shelves. WTF? Aside from everything else I feel about it, it offends me as an American. This is the United States of America in the 21st century. We are better than this.

    • watson42

       /  November 5, 2012

      whoops, I meant “don’t deserve to exist”

    • That’s it – I think that Bush v. Gore taught me the horrific possibilities, and I just can’t shed that knowledge. I think my sleep will be chemically assisted tonight….

  4. LongHairedWeirdo

     /  November 5, 2012

    I get you.

    it’s silly, but I feel like a Romney win would be a victory of darkness over light.

    The Republicans have played some hideously nasty games over the past four years, and Romney has run an exceedingly dishonest campaign. “Just sit at home and collect a check”, “cuts in Medicare”, “Oh, I never said tax cut for the wealthy!” and so on.

    I don’t think he will win, though. And then, the economy will continue to improve. I think the Republicans will push right hoping to win big in 2014, and I think then, they’ll get slaughtered. And maybe – maybe they’ll start being conservative again.

    I think John Cole was right – peak wingnut is coming. He just was off by 6 years.

    Yeah, this is me being wildly optimistic. Crazy world where *this* counts as wildly optimistic.

  5. A knot in mine, too. But I voted, this morning. The mood at my wee local town hall was serious and cheerful all at once. I filled in my little black bubbles. I was voter #239 from my town this morning. And now we wait. And hope. And pray.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 5,028 other followers