On camera on HuffPost Live, talkin’ ’bout voting as a Progressive for Obama.

So I’ll fess up: My earlier blog post was inspired by the fact that I knew I was going to be on HuffPost Live this afternoon and I needed to organize my thoughts.

If you’d like to watch, just click here (and if you’re my mom [hi Mom!], I start talking at the 5 minute, 10 second point).

PS It occurs to me to mention that in this segment, I was on a panel with Daniel Ellsberg, aka Mr. Pentagon Papers. So you know: That doesn’t happen every day!

PPS It further occurs to me to mention that I mostly talked about why it actually matters a very great deal to American women that the Republican not be nominated elected. FIFTY PERCENT OF THE UNION, is all.

5 Comments

  1. Emily, you were on with Daniel Ellsberg?!?!?! HOW COOL IS THAT?!?!?

    Ben Manski is a cry-baby, I’m sad to say.

    Matt Stoller is clueless, unfortunately. He’s so busy battering President Obama with his own set of preconceptions, so ardent in labeling him a “baby killer,” that he refuses to see the big picture. It’s a two-horse race because that’s the system we’ve developed over the centuries through the inaction of the electorate. Yes, there are other parties, yes, the Democrats are not right on everything, but the GOP is so much worse than any other party, that you have to allow for the idea that their defeat is a moral imperative, and we can fight about the efficacy of President Obama’s policies later, once the dust has settled.

    And, not to put too fine a point on it, every President has killed other people. It comes with the position; sadly, the world is not the perfect place we would like to think it is. But this President has tried to use that power to best protect the American people, and even if we don’t like it, even if we find it morally abhorrent, there comes a point where we must accept that there are those who want to harm us, and a President is enjoined to use whatever means necessary to protect us. It’s a messy world, and it will stay so, until we clean it up through our actions in spreading human decency.

    • This: It’s a messy world, and it will stay so, until we clean it up through our actions in spreading human decency.

  2. Captain Button

     /  October 23, 2012

    It further occurs to me to mention that I mostly talked about why it actually matters a very great deal to American women that the Republican not be nominated.

    Did you mean to say “nominated” there?

  1. Every woman in America should read this. Every woman who cares about America should read this. « Well, This Is What I Think
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 5,028 other followers