What’s that you say? Firefly’s 10th anniversary is coming up?

What I want:

 

*

What I might be getting (and which has just been made available for pre-order):

“But it ain’t all buttons and charts, little albatross. You know what the first rule of flying’ is? Love. You can know all the math in the ‘Verse, but take a boat in the air you don’t love, she’ll shake you off just as sure as the turning of the worlds. Love keeps her in the air when she oughta fall down, tells ya she’s hurtin’ fore she keens. Makes her a home.” – Mal Reynolds

*

The problem being that the former costs one hundred American dollars (I’m sorry: ninety-nine American dollars and ninety-nine American cents) and the latter, while a little pricey but not prohibitively so at $19.95, comes with a $9.60 shipping charge. And that just ain’t right. (For the record: I’m pretty sure that the $100 to-scale Serenity model is worth every penny. It’s just a lot of pennies).

I will say this though: Whether or not I decide to abuse my poor, post-bar mitzvah bank account for some sweet Firefly swag, I have a date marked (quite literally) on my calendar: November 11, the date of SyFy’s Firefly reunion special (“Browncoats Unite,” or some such) and day-long series marathon.

Do I own the series on DVD? Sure do. Could I stage a day-long series marathon all on my own if I wanted to? Sure could. But will it be better knowing that I’m watching with all the other Browncoats and awaiting the crown jewel that will be the special? Hell yeah! That will not only be shiny – it will be the shiniest. (No, I’m sorry. “The shiniest” would be: New episodes. “The second shiniest” would be: A second movie. Doing what I just described will be the third shiniest. Just so’s we’re clear).

Maybe I could dress like Zoe for the event!

I’m not sure I could carry off the look, though.

*

I’m nice, but I’m no big damn hero.

 

Leave a comment

18 Comments

  1. What do you think — can I get away with hanging “You can’t take the sky from me?” in my rabbinic office? ;-)

    Reply
  2. caoil

     /  August 29, 2012

    Zoe is the best. The best! <3

    Reply
    • I’ve just been ranting (briefly, at least) on Twitter about the fact that she’s the one who said the “big damn heroes” line, and yet all posters, tshirts and/or fan art that I’ve ever seen that cites it features Mal, Jayne (!), or Zoe with one or both of those men. I found a “Big Damn Hero” keychain on etsy – marketed to men. ZOE SAID THE GORRAMN LINE.

      #sigh

      Reply
  3. Captain_Button

     /  August 29, 2012

    Just don’t ride in anything with a Capissen 38 engine, they fall right out of the sky.

    Reply
    • Well, you know. Kaylee did have a vested interest.

      Reply
      • Captain_Button

         /  August 29, 2012

        Yeah, a quick image search shows he did wear a lot of vests.

        Reply
        • …she?

          Surely you meant “she.” Being as how Kaylee is a lady. And all. Unless you meant Shepard Book, and he didn’t wear vests so much as collars.

          Reply
          • Captain_Button

             /  August 29, 2012

            I meant Simon Tam wore a lot of vests, and Kaylee was certainly interested in him.

            Reply
            • Oh, yes, indeed! And her “vest” wasn’t really a vest, was it, it was a sleeveless jumpsuit. Oh, I’m all of a muddle, here!

              Reply
  4. Darth Thulhu

     /  August 29, 2012

    “I’m nice, but I am no big damn hero.”

    Mid-size blessed hero, then? The “hero” part is non-negotiable, I’m afraid.

    Reply
    • : ) You are, as always, very sweet! I’ll accept mid-sized and blessed, but “hero” I’ll save for people who don’t live ensconced in suburban comfort while hurling words across a free-speech guaranteed internet. I’m a good egg, I’ll grant you that.

      “Mid-sized, blessed good egg,” maybe.

      Reply
  5. AlexBlake

     /  August 30, 2012

    You are a very good egg indeed. And because you’ve helped me out in the past more than once (I totally got to explain Morman’s Magic Underware because of you, and hence won the argument, to use one example. Finding the Scale Serenity perfect gift for my wife is another.)

    And someone did this for me once when I really needed it. So, I’m paying it back.

    From ThinkGeek’s Customer Service
    “Do you offer a gift registry?
    We do offer a wish list feature to our customers. From the product page, just add an item to your default wish list, any existing wish list, or to a brand new wish list. You can manage your various wish lists from your Account page. This will take you to a page where you can name your wish list, make it searchable to others, and tell your friends about it by sending them an email with the items in your wish list. If someone orders an item directly from your wish list, it will work like a registry and mark that item as already being purchased.”

    I believe you can access my email from this post. Please make a wishlist with the
    Scale Serenity, send it to me and I’d be happy to spend some of my new payraise on a gift for you.

    Otherwise, you’ll make get in touch with the thinkgeek people and make them let me pay for it and send it to “the one who got the Jewish Curious George.” It’ll take longer that way. I’ll also feel a little like a stalker.

    Thanks!

    Reply
    • Oh my goodness, I just saw this, and don’t be silly! You’ve made me very, very happy with just the suggestion! I’m literally blushing here in my little home office. Thank you, you’re very kind, but no worries. I’m good.

      And an egg. And what would an egg do with a space ship? : )

      Reply
  6. Bob Toy

     /  August 30, 2012

    Oh, just save your pennies…and drop some none-too-subtle hints to your other half.

    Reply
  7. I really do love that reunion poster, but the shipping makes me sad as well. I just did a Big Damn Heroes poster, which kinda features a whole lot of the cast. But at least Zoe’s in there, eh?

    https://www.etsy.com/listing/106938757/safe-firefly-illustrated-poster

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 4,696 other followers