OMG arglebarglelkgfiu…ok, crying nao: Super Dad is super.

Nils Pickert’s five-year-old son likes to wear dresses.

This post is lifted entirely from BuzzFeed, which lifted it from this translation of the original German:

My five year old son likes to wear dresses. In Berlin Kreuzberg that alone would be enough to get into conversation with other parents. Is it wise or ridiculous? “Neither one nor the other!“ I still want to shout back at them. But sadly they can’t hear me any more. Because by now I live in a small town in South Germany. Not even a hundred thousand inhabitants, very traditional, very religious. Plainly motherland. Here the partiality of my son are not only a subject for parents, they are a town wide issue. And I did my bit for that to happen…

I didn’t want to talk my son into not wearing dresses and skirts. He didn’t make friends in doing that in Berlin already and after a lot of contemplation I had only one option left: To broaden my shoulders for my little buddy and dress in a skirt myself. After all you can’t expect a child at pre-school age to have the same ability to assert themselves as an adult. Completely without role model. And so I became that role model…

Being all stressed out, because of the moving I forgot to notify the nursery-school teachers to have an eye on my boy not being laughed at because of his fondness of dresses and skirts. Shortly after moving he didn’t dare to go to nursery-school wearing a skirt or a dress any more. And looking at me with big eyes he asked: “Daddy, when are you going to wear a skirt again?”…

To this very day I’m thankful for that women, that stared at us on the street until she ran face first into a street light. My son was roaring with laugher. And the next day he fished out a dress from the depth of his wardrobe. At first only for the weekend. Later also for nursery-school.

And what’s the little guy doing by now? He’s painting his fingernails. He thinks it looks pretty on my nails, too. He’s simply smiling, when other boys (and it’s nearly always boys) want to make fun of him and says: “You only don’t dare to wear skirts and dresses because your dads don’t dare to either.” That’s how broad his own shoulders have become by now. And all thanks to daddy in a skirt.

***********

“That how broad his own shoulders have become by now.” Oh, man. If that’s not a parenting goal, I don’t know what is. Now excuse me, I have to go blow my nose. – elh

8 Comments

  1. Faith in humanity restored.

  2. Baiskeli

     /  August 28, 2012

    Nominee for “Greatest Dad in the World!”

  3. Reblogged this on @KellyOSullivan and commented:
    This is phenomenal. Such a fantastic role model. I can’t thank Emily L. Hauser enough for sharing this or I might never have seen it.

  4. <3! How fabulous. Sharing with some of my local mama friends right now.

  5. koolaide

     /  August 29, 2012

    The translation left out the part at the beginning where the dad says he didn’t want to be the sort of guy that is all “yay equity” until the kid is born and then the family goes to traditional man works & woman stays home function.

    The issue of working women w/ children is pretty big in Germany. My understanding is that women being able to work & have kids if that’s what they want to do isn’t even what it is here (and there are plenty of troubles w/ it here).

    • Thanks for adding that – I checked BuzzFeed’s text quickly against the Google translation (just to make sure that BuzzFeed/their source had what they thought they had – BF isn’t always as careful as one might want them to be!) but Google Translate is really only good as a safety net — I wouldn’t have wanted to actually cut and paste anything from it. (And my German is not so much “bad” as “non-existent”…!)

      • koolaide

         /  August 29, 2012

        Oh, I have zero German that is not soccer related (and I’m sketchy on some of those words). I do tend to rely upon google translate more than I should. I just noticed that the translation from the tumblr site didn’t include the paragraph I mentioned. Who knows how accurate the google translate is in terms of nuance (ha! ) but I think it gets a general gist of the paragraph in question in the emma.de article.

  6. I’ve learn several just right stuff here. Certainly price bookmarking for revisiting. I surprise how so much attempt you put to create this sort of excellent informative web site.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 4,932 other followers