My President is a feminist, part the several.

In case you were wondering:

President Obama strongly condemned Rep. Todd Akin (R-MO) during a surprise press conference Monday for his remarks that “legitimate rape” doesn’t cause pregnancy. Obama said Akin’s statement was reflective of the broader Republican Party’s treatment of women.

“Let me first say the views expressed were offensive,” Obama said. “Rape is rape, and the idea that we should be parsing and qualifying and slicing what types of rape we’re talking about doesn’t make sense to the American people and certainly doesn’t make sense to me.”

…Obama, while acknowledging criticism of Akin from within the Republican Party, said that his remarks were indicative of the GOP’s anti-abortion record. He pointedly referenced a House Republican bill co-sponsored by Akin and Rep. Paul Ryan that distinguished “forcible rape” in banning funding for abortion, language that was subsequently withdrawn after an outcry from women’s advocacy groups.

“What I think these comments do underscore is why we shouldn’t have a bunch of politicians, a majority of whom are men, making health care decisions on behalf of women,” Obama said. “So although these particular comments have led Gov. Romney and other Republicans to distance themselves, I think that the underlying notion that we should be making decisions on behalf of women … or qualifying forcible rape versus non-forcible rape are broader issues.”

FYI, and so on.

Via TPM and @MichelleObama.

Leave a comment

10 Comments

  1. Mitt Romney’s campaign is going to be stepping on these Tea Party & ultra-right-wing landmines all the way to November. He’s going to spend so much time fighting off requests to see his tax returns and dodging the shrapnel from Republicans shooting their mouths off, that he won’t be able to make any headway. I think we’re seeing 20 years of Republican fear-mongering and ignorance-peddling finally come how to roost.

    Reply
    • Darth Thulhu

       /  August 20, 2012

      We can only hope. If ever a party had been in severe need of years of purging, it is the current Republican one.

      Reply
    • Electronic_Neko

       /  August 20, 2012

      I was surprised at how strongly Romney condemned Akin. I don’t think I’ve heard him disavow crazy talk from another Republican like that.

      Reply
  2. I really like the graphic you have up for this post. I’m assuming that “your” refers to Romney, at which point there something poignant about a black man born in the middle classes of America standing up and making that statement to a white man whose family has been rich for generations. I don’t know if that subtext was intentional, but the message is powerful.

    Reply
  3. I wub my President :) Not least because when I went to refill a prescription over the weekend, one that usually costs $50-$80, it came back as – $0. My President is an awesome President!

    Reply
  4. baiskeli

     /  August 21, 2012

    My wife and I had a discussion about Elizabeth Warren’s response. Warren tied Akin to the Republicans.

    She said


    “I understand that Scott Brown and other Republicans want to pretend Todd Akin is an isolated individual, but he is clearly in line with the Republican agenda,” Ms. Warren said in a campaign statement.

    Now, initially I saw no problem with that (cause to be honest, she is telling the truth), but I’ve come around to my wifes thinking on this. While it was accurate, it did not provide context and for people who were not aware of the Akin/Ryan co-sponsored bill or not tuned into politics. So it sounds like a stretch and very partisan.

    However, the statement by President Obama was nuanced and accurate and is the absolute best response I’ve seen so far. It’s essentially saying what Warren said.

    I think nefariousnewt is absolutely right. Mittens, and the Republicans, are going to keep stepping on these landmines because the far right and tea-party don’t have the common sense to use their “inside voice”.

    Reply
  5. efgoldman

     /  August 21, 2012

    I cross-posted a link to the picture over at Balloon Juice last night.
    Someone over there asked it it was actually prepared and released by the campaign, pr just something a supporter cobbled together.
    Emily, do you know?

    Reply
    • I’m not Emily and I don’t know, but I do see that the picture is posted on Obama’s Facebook page with no other attribution. (They have a few such pictures, in different styles.)

      Reply
    • Hello! I saw it on twitter as tweeted by FLOTUS’s account (link in the “via,” above). And I <3 it very much, I must say.

      Reply
  6. Just to say here, the comment threads at TNC’s place seem to be under serious attack, a lot of flagging of comments… stay tuned.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,830 other followers