Is that you – or did you just open a new book?

*

On the one hand, this is perfume that is purported to smell like new books — a thing which, I will confess, I really rather want to both own and wear.

On the other hand, said perfume is described thusly by its makers (which include the unfathomable and mildly loathsome Karl Lagerfeld):

This is an opportunity to celebrate all the gloriosensuality of books, at a time when many in the industry are turning against them. The idea is that is should relax you, like when you read a book, to a level of meditation and concentration. Paper Passion has evolved into something quite beautiful and unique. To wear the smell of a book is something very chic. Books are players in the intellectual world, but also in the world of luxury.

Note also that there exists ad copy for this perfume which reads: “The Silent Smell of Paper. Karl Lagerfeld.”

All told, I think I’m lucky that it’s $98 a bottle. The temptation factor drops considerably at that price point, and I might never forgive myself if I ever bought any.

h/t BoingBoing

5 Comments

  1. Bookwoman

     /  July 27, 2012

    Karl Lagerfeld? No thank you. I’d prefer this, I think: http://www.cbihateperfume.com/in-the-library.html/

    In the Library is a warm blend of English Novel*, Russian & Moroccan Leather Bindings, Worn Cloth and a hint of Wood Polish

    *The main note in this scent was copied from one of my favorite novels originally published in 1927. I happened to find a signed first edition in pristine condition many years ago in London. I was more than a little excited because there were only ever a hundred of these in the first place. It had a marvelous warm woody slightly sweet smell and I set about immediately to bottle it.

    • socioprof

       /  July 27, 2012

      That line of perfumes is really nice. I have smelled and worn several and they are pretty accurately described.

  2. socioprof

     /  July 27, 2012

    gloriosensuality???

  3. efgoldman

     /  July 27, 2012

    Another reason why the Kindle will never replace real books.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 5,030 other followers