Fie upon social media! Fie on’t!

Earlier today I confessed on the Twitters that life was easier when I didn’t instantly know about every assholish thing that every asshole did. Such is the curse of the particular sea of social media in which I happen to swim.

“I was an activist then!” I tweeted, “I rallied to causes! It wasn’t like I was lacking in the being-fired-up-department! I think I was just less woeful.”

Then I called myself the Wench of the Woeful Countenance, and dared Twitter to understand the reference.

And then I got the following stuck in my head:

*

Hear me now
Oh thou bleak and unbearable world,
Thou art base and debauched as can be;
And a knight with his banners all bravely unfurled
Now hurls down his gauntlet to thee!

Man alive. I have got to go see Man of La Mancha again, sometime soon. Tilting at windmills – that’s my job description!

8 Comments

  1. Heck I was in this show in high school. I know every word of every song by heart!

    • I FORGOT THAT.

      I’ve been walking around singing it all day, including changing my voice for Sancho. Dude, we should get together and sing!

      • I’ll do the Don Q and you can do the Sancho since I’m a tenor no more LOL

  2. My mother had the album when I was a kid and I loved it. Got to see the show sometime, somewhere.

  3. efgoldman

     /  July 13, 2012

    Then I called myself the Wench of the Woeful Countenance…
    I have been looking for *decades* for a good alternative to the old “I’m gonna’ eat worms…”
    I suspect this is something you need to file away for the daughter’s coming and inevitable sighing, eye rolling, door-slamming, “M-o-o-o-o-m-m”-ing future.

  4. CitizenE

     /  July 16, 2012

    Right now in order to do this thing with the B&B, something I am beginning to regret for all the financial investment I’ve put into it, I am realizing to make a realistic go, I will have to join a whole raft of social media, but still, everytime I am asked to join facebook or linked in, or the like, I balk. I rarely like texting, email on a bad keybord, though I see some uses in it. Twitter might be good in a civil emergency for getting the word out, but other than that, until everyone spends the next year in a haiku writing class, not only to I find the message tawdry and irrelevant, but the medium offensive.

    Twitter titter, jeez,
    navel gazing, knees, jerks y
    ’nuff 2 make me wheeze.

    • You may want to turn social media over to the college-age assistant you’re find yourself hiring….

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 4,919 other followers