Yaaaaaaay!!!

I’m a wee bit weepy, I’m very excited, I’m not really surprised, and I’m covered in goosebumps.

I’ve long suspected that the President was taking a Lincolnian tack on the issue of gay marriage, keeping his support in his back pocket, so to speak, until such time as he saw that the rest of the country wouldn’t be completely thrown for a loop by it, and then: Boom. And I believe that’s what he did — and I don’t really believe that Joe Biden’s “gaffe” was a “gaffe.” Biden meant it, and if the President hadn’t wanted to reply, he wouldn’t have.

After all, this is the administration that repealed DADT, de-fanged DOMA, has hired/appointed (if memory serves) more than 200 out gays and lesbians (not to mention the first out trans-gendered person in history), so on and so forth. This is completely of a piece with what’s been going on under Obama’s watch since day one (and indeed, since that first time he said he backed gay marriage, back in 1996).

So I’m not surprised. But I am absolutely thrilled.

On the ground, of course, it means nothing. North Carolina still has a vile new amendment to its Constitution, and gay men and women can’t run out and get hitched on the President’s say-so.

But when the President says a thing, it is huge. This, my friends, is a big fucking deal.

And a very, very proud day for America.

image source

10 Comments

    • Ha! Apparently! I just RT-ed your post! (Mind you, we’re ALL posting at the same time!)

  1. I am SO proud of our President. This is a sea change and yes, it IS a big fucking deal.

  2. helensprogeny

     /  May 9, 2012

    Might just have to move that picture from the kitchen to the living room. YEE-HAW!!! My president, indeed.

  3. I am thrilled too. But a little less than you perhaps, since all we have are public statements about personal beliefs. I don’t know how much/whether that translates to political actions. Still, it’s a good statement to make following a travesty in North Carolina.

  4. Lev

     /  May 9, 2012

    A sign, perhaps, that Obama has given up trying to be the great conciliator and is just going to tell the people straight-up what he believes? I can only hope.

    • I think being the great conciliator is kind of his gig. Indeed, I tend to think this was more of that same, really.

  5. Lovers always win. It may take decades or even centuries, but those who love Mankind… okay, Humankind… seriously, that’s still offensive? Okay okay, uh Personkind. Good? Good. Those who love Personkind much as they love Justice and Liberty will endure and prevail.

  6. stephen matlock

     /  May 10, 2012

    This is a big deal. And a good thing.

    “We the People” means “All the People.”

  7. Darth Thulhu

     /  May 11, 2012

    An enormous thing to say, and to hear. Shame on him for taking so long, good on him for finally saying it, great on him for saying it on a day where it would do true good.

    In contrast to the vote in North Carolina and the reports of Republican-nominee Romney dissembling about having been an anti-gay bullying pack leader in his teens, this was that rare breath of fresh air of a politician with real power taking a big step forward for our ideals and morals as a country.

    Beautiful news.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 5,019 other followers