Ah! So, me & The Daily Beast are “real” as in: Today.

My column at The Daily Beast‘s new Zion Square blog will run every other Friday, starting next Friday.

However, I had already sent them a different post, on a topic they asked us all to write about: My relationship with the word “Zionism.” The plan has been to scatter those posts along the way, over the next week or two.

And lo! They decided to run mine today, on the very day that the blog went live! O_O (I’m reduced to emoticons at this point).

Here’s the top of that post:

On my side of the political map, the word “Zionist” is, at the very least, problematic. I’m an American-Israeli peacenik.

I’ve supported a two-state solution since the first intifada, and have made a minor career out of criticizing successive Israeli governments and their American enablers. I’ve gotten threatening phone calls, and certain upstanding Jews have simply stopped speaking to me.

I am, in short, the kind of Jew who finds herself in daily communication with folks who use “Zionist” as a synonym for all manner of nasty things—and they tend to expect me to, if not agree with them, at least disavow the –ism.

Please click here to read the rest — and, really, please click! I am by far the least-known quantity on the roster of bloggers that Peter Beinart has brought together, and I would love to have my very first post get as many reads as possible.

And in honor of the event, I have updated and cleaned up my own Israel/Palestine resources page – if you’re interested in that, you can click here.

Leave a comment

10 Comments

  1. Excellent post! Go you.

    Also, I have been spending some quality time with your reading list of suggested books on Israel and Palestine as I work on making my own potential book group reading list. More soon!

    Reply
  2. Very very cool! I’ll read immediately.

    Reply
    • Thanks! (Your first, one-word comment was stuck in spam. Apparently one must be at least mildly verbose to count as a people, in WordPress’s mind).

      Reply
  3. dmf

     /  March 12, 2012

    Reply
  4. caoil

     /  March 12, 2012

    That was fast! I have my fingers crossed that all goes swimmingly.

    Also, don’t forget us little people! ;-)

    Reply
  5. Darth Thulhu

     /  March 12, 2012

    I was Clicky McClickerson. First from Sullivan, then from here. Very gratified to see “Comments for this page are closed.”

    You go, you! You go!

    Reply
  6. wearyvoter

     /  March 12, 2012

    I’ve clicked at least twice. :) Congrats! And well done!

    Reply
  7. dmf

     /  March 13, 2012

    hey ee, i shared yer good news with the folks at WBEZ so maybe they will pick up the story; local gal makes good!

    Reply
  8. Yay! Congrats on the new audience.

    Reply
  1. Israel’s settlements: What’s up with that? A primer. | Angry Black Lady Chronicles

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 4,682 other followers