Good stuff: Adorable lesbian homecoming couple is adorable.

Haileigh Adams (l) and Rebeca Arellano.

So the other day I saw this story, and justlikethat, my day got immeasurably brighter:

Two California high school students became one of the first lesbian couples crowned homecoming king and queen in the nation this weekend.

Rebeca Arellano, a senior at Patrick Henry High School, was made the school’s first female homecoming king when her name was announced Friday at a pep rally.

“They were chanting my name and it was one of the most amazing experiences I’ve ever had,” said Arellano.

Arellano’s girlfriend, Haileigh Adams, who also attends Patrick Henry High School, was made homecoming queen at Saturday night’s dance.

“I was happier than when I won, my little Haileigh has just been announced Homecoming queen and I couldn’t feel happier! Thanks to every single one of you! You guys made this happen and we are all part of something huge. I can’t fully express how grateful I am. I am in completely shocked that this happen. My girl looks absolutely flawless,” wrote Arellano on Facebook Saturday night.

The two girls told ABC News that they’re thankful for the abundance of support they’ve received from family, friends, and students and staff at the school.

Arellano said one of her teachers told her, “Today school is a bit better because of you girls.”

And then I looked really closely at their picture and just thought: “ZOMG! They are so cute!”

And then, just now, I saw this video (which I cannot embed because I have a stupid free WordPress platform, but if you click on the words “this video,” you’ll get there!) and thought: “O_O! Holy crow! It’s like they’re the movie version of their own lives!” I did not know that the real people about whom the stories are written could actually be as beautiful as the actresses who will inevitably play them.

Anyway! A little cheery news, in case you, like me, could use some.

ZOMG – adorbs!

2 Comments

  1. *grins widely* They are SO adorable. Clearly deserving!

  2. David Litvak

     /  November 2, 2011

    a) SUPER adorable, SUPER hipstery teens.

    b) Good for them, and good for their school.

    c) A California school with the Pats logo as their own athletics logo? Treading on some thin ice there…

    d) So, can it just be “Homecoming Monarch” now, please?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 5,028 other followers