Live feed from Troy Davis vigil outside death row prison in Jackson, Georgia.

The Supreme Court granted Troy Davis a “temporary delay,” which is a thing that could theoretically last minutes or hours up to seven days — it’s not a stay of execution, it’s buying some time to make a decision. I’m watching a live feed from the vigil outside the death row prison, broadcast by Democracy Now. To watch the feed, click here.

Mostly I’m on Twitter: @emilylhauser Even if you’re not “on Twitter,” you can look at my feed or the feeds of other people tweeting under the hashtag #TroyDavis

12 Comments

  1. Praying for a stay of execution.

  2. helensprogeny

     /  September 21, 2011

    I’ve literally been sitting in a corporate indoctrina – er, orientation since 8 o’clock this morning and have had no news on this issue until just this moment. At 4pm (7pm EST), I looked at my watch and sent strength and peace to Mr. Davis, not knowing in that moment whether he was strapped to a table or not. I’m so glad that he’s still here. Hopefully, he will be with us for a long time to come.

  3. Emily, I don’t understand who’s getting the time to make a decision. The Supreme Court? Do you know?

    And I feel happier now to wish you HAPPY BIRTHDAY!

  4. Oh. I followed your link; to hear the SC had refused to block Troy Davis’s execution.

    What a shameful country we live in.

  5. David L

     /  September 21, 2011

    I’m currently using language to describe the supreme court that has managed to scandalize the cat, even despite the fact that, as far as I know, the only English words he knows are “food”, “down” and “no”.

    If Troy Davis’ passing cannot be just, may it at least be smooth and peaceful for him.

  6. corkingiron

     /  September 21, 2011

    This is not justice, Emily. It is Law, untempered and pitiless. Justice is still waiting, and the long war continues. My heart breaks. For you, for your country, and for Troy Davis.

  7. Thank you, David L and Corkingiron, for your words. Because right now, I just want to break something.

  8. I am so tired.

    Words fail. Reason fails.

    I do not have any more words.

    • corkingiron

       /  September 21, 2011

      I posted this at Andrew Cohen’s blog tonight – and I want to repeat it because it needs to be remembered:

      The best of your citizenry were present in every possible way tonight – arguing for hope, and justice and a measured compassion. The worst of your citizenry are on blogs like this, continuing to re-argue the unspeakable and cover their shame. Georgia shamed itself tonight. The American justice system, which placed legality ahead of justice – shamed itself tonight. But the American ideal – so nobly represented in the faces of those who spoke on behalf of Mr. Davis and a wider ideal of justice? They are the envy of civilized people the world over.

  9. k___

     /  September 22, 2011

    I don’t know how to deal with this. It’s awful.

  10. I feel like I can’t believe it’s so, and yet it is.

    I’m going to put a post up in a little bit, but I just want to quickly say thank you to everyone, the people who left comments on all the various posts, and the many more who have read quietly and been with us in spirit.

    It matters that we have been holding each other across miles and oceans as this case has unfolded, and I have been grateful to be part of the larger effort. There’s only one way to make sense of this, and that is to continue Mr. Davis’s fight for him. That’s what I’m going to write about later.

    Thank you.

    • dmf

       /  September 22, 2011

      dear ee, pls take good care of yourself in the midst of all of this, if we are to endure and perhaps even to overcome we will have to be at our best, at our fullest and most capable, most human, and when we get rundown/worn-out this isn’t possible.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 5,028 other followers